Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Here I Go Again

2006-09-07 - 10:08 a.m.

This shows you just how computer illiterate I am.

I was getting to the point where I almost re-used a song title for an entry. I started looking over the older entries list to make sure I wouldn't. Then, supposedly to make it easier, I cut-and-pasted the list into a text file. I was telling someone at work about this, and they said, "Why don't you just use Excel and alphabetize the list? Then you can add to it and re-order it anytime."

HUH? You can do that??

So this morning I opened Excel, opened the text file in it...and I get a wizard that walks me through the process. It takes each name and puts it in a separate cell, nice and easy. Then, two clicks later...alphabetized.

My ex was the expert in Excel. Something tells me I need to go back to school and learn this stuff.

Maybe I could do that with my text file with all the CDs and LPs and such...

===

A guy on Price Is Right yesterday reminded me of me, at least in a couple ways.

He got onstage, and Bob commented on his "Honeymooning With Bob" T-shirt. The guy took the mic, and promptly announced that his new bride was suffering morning sickness, and "there were two lines - the test is positive!"

The audience went nuts, happy for the happy couple. Bob, a little nonplussed, said with a chuckle, "Well, now that we got THAT out of the way..."

I too tend to talk too much and too personally, even about other people in my life. It's something I'm working on.

But this is MY blog. MY small portion of the universe. And I'll say whatever I damn well please...unless it'll get me fired. Sorry, but I need to pay my rent.

===

I plan again to go out to dinner tonight, and then back to the game store and drool.

It's good to get out amongst the 3D folk sometimes. And even though it's still quite warm, I can use the vitamin D.

Even though Jerry Springer said it, it's worth thinking about:

Be good to yourself...and each other.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.