Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Words

2006-09-11 - 12:19 p.m.

Well.

I was kinda at loggerheads today...not sure what to write. Then it came to me.

Words.

Attend:

The game night went well last night. I had a minor emotional moment when the hostess looked at me like she was going to say something. I said, "What? What is it?" She patted my arm and said, "I'll ask you later." She then headed upstairs to put her son to bed.

Well, I was confused...and a little scared. Remember, I had just gone through a divorce, and when someone says anything along the lines of "we need to talk", my first thought is "oh no I've screwed up again".

Later, when we DID talk, I was assured that all was well. In fact, she'd forgotten what she wanted to ask me. But she said that she'd e-mail me if she remembered.

But for a moment, there...I was afraid I'd somehow worn out my welcome, and was going to be asked not to come back. I have to get over that fear.

Words.

===

I remember watching the reports of the events of five years ago. It really sank in that it was real when I heard, on network TV, someone shouting "Get the fuck outta my way!"

Words.

===

A couple years ago, I got a birthday card from my parents. The check was nice, but what was more important to me was the inscription inside:

"We are very proud of the man you have become!"

Words.

===

There's an article today at TownHall.com by Jeff Jacoby. Here's the first few paragraphs:


George W. Bush has been smeared by the left with every insult imaginable. He has been called a segregationist who yearns to revive Jim Crow and compared ad nauseam to Adolf Hitler. His detractors have accused him of being financially entwined with Osama bin Laden. Of presiding over an American gulag. Of being a latter-day Mussolini. Howard Dean has proffered the "interesting theory" that the Saudis tipped off Bush in advance about 9/11. One US senator (Ted Kennedy) has called the war in Iraq a "fraud" that Bush "cooked up in Texas" for political gain; another (Vermont independent James Jeffords) has charged him with planning a war in Iran as a strategy to put his brother in the White House. Cindy Sheehan has called him a "lying bastard," a "filth spewer," an "evil maniac," a "fuehrer," and a "terrorist" guilty of "blatant genocide" -- and been rewarded for her invective with oceans of media attention.

What's left for them to say about Bush? That they want him killed?

They already say it.

On Air America Radio, talk show host Randi Rhodes recommended doing to Bush what Michael Corleone, in "The Godfather, Part II," does to his brother. "Like Fredo," she said, "somebody ought to take him out fishing and phuw!" -- then she imitated the sound of a gunshot. In the Guardian, a leading British daily, columnist Charlie Brooker issued a plea: "John Wilkes Booth, Lee Harvey Oswald, John Hinckley Jr. -- where are you now that we need you?"


The entire article can be found here.

Remember, Hinkley thought shooting a president would get an actress to notice him. If Bush were assassinated due to Rhodes' comment, could Rhodes be found guilty of complicity?

Words.

===

The president of Iran has stated he wants Israel "wiped off the map", and he's working on making nuclear weapons.

Words.

===

So what can be said about what happened five years ago today? This, from Hud's blog, says it far better than I ever could:


When you attacked us you thought you landed a major blow.

Instead it was something the Japanese learned to their regret.

America does not take sneak attacks lightly.

We will hunt you down like the animals you are.

We will not forget that day.

We may argue about it. Some of us may try to rationalize it all way.

But those of us who take it seriously are legion. And we will deliver the sword of justice to the entrails of our enemies.

You may think we�re weak and decadent. You may think you will kill us with the death of 1000 cuts.

But we will keep hunting you and will keep killing your kind for decades if we must. We fought the Cold War for 40 years. We will not tire with you.

History doesn�t favor your kind. Your kind always come to a bad end.

You may think most of the world hates us, but they hate you much more.

And they have joined us in the fight. They know you are more of a threat to them, which you keep remindining them.

If you think it�s been hard so far, we will show you how wrong you are.

We will not rest until all of you are done. And that day is coming.

Pray all you want. Hell is your only reward.

Words.

===

And now, the words I sign off with.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.