Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Old And Wise

2006-10-18 - 11:32 a.m.

Christopher Glenn passed yesterday, from liver cancer. He was 67.

Many of you will be saying, "Christopher who?" But to my generation, he was a calm voice in a chaotic time.

Glenn was a news reporter. Much of his career was spent with CBS news, a lot of it on the radio. But my generation remembers him for something else. For fifteen years, Glenn was the voice of "In The News". This was a mini-news program that ran on CBS stations between the Saturday morning fare...say, at 10:56am or so. Glenn would take a story and explain it in words we kids could understand, and make it interesting. Here's one from 1984.

A couple years ago, I wrote a fan letter to Glenn. He was one of the few in my life I've ever done that for. Here's the original text:

Dear Mr. Glenn,

I am someone who grew up hearing your voice on CBS-TV�s �In The News� segments during my childhood. Imagine my delight many years later upon hearing your voice on KNX 1070 NewsRadio.

You were the sound of �grown-up news� for a generation of kids who watched Saturday morning programming on CBS in the 1970s. You helped us learn about what was going on outside our towns. You were, if I may be so bold, our Dan Rather.

Now, although almost three decades have passed, hearing you read the news of the world on my local station brings a smile to my face, and comfort to my heart.

I am glad for this opportunity to let you know this, and I hope to continue to hear you as I drive my local freeways.

Thank you, Mr. Glenn. Be well.

I didn't receive a reply, but I hope he read it. I meant every word.

I still do.

===

I need to be at work early today for a meeting. So that's all for now...because I need to check the news and see what else is going on in the world. I'll probably have to explain it to someone at work.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.