Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


When I Was Your Age

2007-01-19 - 12:16 p.m.

Things are pretty quiet here at Chez Too Old.

I spent most of yesterday being an armchair potato (we don't have a couch). Watched a lot of City Hunter and some Deal Or No Deal.

TV Land is now running M*A*S*H at midnight and Star Trek at 1am. Ever have a show where, even if you've seen all the episodes and know them by heart, you still MUST watch it if it comes on? M*A*S*H is one of those shows for me.

At some point, I'll just have to say no and go to bed at a reasonable hour.

===

Here's another article about the Michael Vick situation. Nothing new is added to what was already reported.

Again, I'm glad my few vices are legal.

===

Speaking of those, nothing that I'm interested in is out on DVD this week...which is good, because the cash that I DO have is budgeted for other things.

Again, sometimes I have to learn to say no. No more cool things until at least February...or at least very few.

Discipline, boy.

===

Speaking of discipline:

It wasn't until I'd read this article on Full Metal Jacket that I found out that it was Vincent D'Onofrio that played the tortured private Leonard "Gomer Pyle" Lawrence. It amazed me that the slim good-looking guy on Law & Order:Criminal Intent played the fat, doomed trainee.

Turns out he put on 70 lbs for the role. Damn, he's good.

===

There's a site called Superdickery.com that is dedicated to comic book covers and scenes that show superheroes in...well, go look.

Some of these are just...WRONG.

===

Charlie just stumbled in. I greeted him, and he said, "Eight o'clock staff meeting. Don't ask."

What else could I do? I blessed him - in Latin - and told him to go to bed.

And now, I - like Elmer Fudd - will be vewwy vewwy quiet.

===

Today's title comes from "Weird Al". Just in case you wondered.

Remember: I either have to know the song or know the artist.

My site, my rules.

===

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Smed - 2007-01-19 15:29:51 - http://smedindy.diaryland.com
Well, everything IS better with monkeys. Or at least orangutans. The eerie thing is that on my iPod right now is the original "Polkas on 45".

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.