Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Respect

2007-01-25 - 11:39 a.m.

Well, whaddaya know! I now have Mark Evanier's respect! And all I did was this:

Gee, mentions in Mark's and Len Wein's blogs have me positively giddy. Especially Mark's. I tell ya, this guy has written some of my favorite comic stories ever - the entire series of DNAgents and Crossfire. Not to mention organizing and starting the DC Challenge series.

Then there's his TV writing. Boy, if I had a series in development, Mark would be my first choice. The guy is so good, it's just amazing.

(Can I stop now, Mark? I can't keep typing this stuff - it's making me sick!)

===

Kick-back time again, folks. Here in the Too Old household, the laundry is starting to pile up. One of my shirts actually got up, went into the bathroom, and tried to flush himself down the toilet. He left a note saying he couldn't take being in the pile anymore.

Okay, fine. I'm now doing laundry. Happy now?

But that means I can watch TV and/or movies while the laundry cooks. Okay by me.

I have a laundry question for all my readers: I have a few dark red washcloths. Is it safe to wash them with my dark blue workshirts if I wash them in cold water? No bleach, of course. But I don't want the colors to bleed. Of course, the optimal solution is to wash them separately...but that's $1.00 for three lousy washcloths.

I await your answers. Thank you.

===

Every once in awhile, I go on a cleaning kick. I dust, vacuum, etc. (Not too often - I AM a guy, after all...we live in our own clutter). But it kinda feels like I may do that tonight.

Maybe I'll just lie down till the feeling goes away.

===

Roomie Charlie sent me a note in reference to yesterday's "strike that, reverse it" joke. He showed me an HTML tag I didn't know about - the STRIKE tag. An example:

One of my favorite foods is haggis pizza.

Good deal. I'm always willing to learn new HTML tags. Thanks, buddy!

===

So. Laundry day. Maybe I'll order a haggis pizza.

Be seeing you.



===

4 comments so far

Brin - 2007-01-25 15:01:34 -
If you want to test them to see if they're colorfast, put them in warm/hot water (in the sink) with a little of your laundry soap (pinch). If they water doesn't morph, you should be able to throw them into the machine with your darks.

===

Dave - 2007-01-25 21:04:38 -
I did that, and it worked! The only problem was...how do you do a pinch of liquid detergent??

===

Brin - 2007-01-26 01:18:26 -
Well, you were there and I was not, so you're the one who knows how it worked. :-P

===

cardiogirl - 2007-01-26 06:08:27 - http://cardiogirl.diaryland.com
You should be fine washing the red washcloths with the dark blue shirts. However, if you want to be absolutely sure, get yourself a package of dye magnets at the grocery store. They are found in the aisle with all of the laundry detergent. The ones I have used are made by Shout and they are pieces of fabric (about 15 to a box) that will suck up the excess dye so nothing ruins the other clothes. They work GREAT! They kind of look like a dryer sheet but they are thicker. Good luck!

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.