Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


On And On

2007-03-16 - 1:07 p.m.

Diaryland is still spotty, as of this writing.

Here's how it was explained to me: there are twelve major servers for the internet, labeled A through L. They update themselves once a day. When you call up a web page, the server that handles your request is random - you could ask for a page and get server C, and the very next page you ask for could come from server H. So when a Diaryland page is called up, you'll get an error message if the server that got queried hasn't updated yet. My source tells me that it should all be cleared up in 48 hours. At this point in time, we're well in to the second day.

My source also told me some not-so-nice things about Network Solutions. So let's hope it all does what it's supposed to do.

===

Well, I survived the dentist.

My teeth are in good shape. My gums have problems. I have a good case of gingivitis, and I lost a chunk of one of my old fillings (it was put in my tooth in 1993, so it's been there awhile). No new cavities, which is good.

But I'm going back a week from Monday. Yay.

===

Lots of political stuff today. Get ready.

In the You've Gotta Be Kidding Dept.:

Seems that not only are the six imams suing the airline, but they also want to sue the passengers who reported them!!

This must get tossed out of court. If this goes through, people will be afraid to report possible wrongdoing to authorities because they might get sued!

And in England, a school changed the name of a play so as not to offend Muslims. They changed "The Three Little Pigs" to..."The Three Little Puppies".

A member of the Muslim Council of Britain has this to say:

"The vast majority of Muslims have no problem whatsoever with the 'Three Little Pigs,'" he told the Daily Mail. "It's always been the traditional way of telling the story, and I don't see why that should be changed."

Mogra acknowledged Muslims are forbidden to eat pork, "but there is no prohibition about reading stories about pigs. This is an unnecessary step."

Mogra asked how far society would go. "Are we going to change the seven dwarves because it's discriminatory towards people who are physically less able? Where do you draw the line?" he asked. "Every time we get these stories Muslims are seen more and more as misfits. We have to accept there's a predominant culture here."

This is what I've been railing about for awhile. A peaceful Muslim is speaking out against the extremeism. Good for him.

===

But wait - there's more!

Professor Mike Adams - the guy who found out about the Muslim extremeist professor who called his students "little jihadists" - found out about a Kent State professor who, in his spare time, runs a website about...well, go see.

Hey, he has the right to say what he wants, no matter how nasty or despicable. But that means people also have the right to be outraged by it.

===

It's only a rumor that Khalid Sheikh Mohammed confessed only because they threatened to take him to Water Reed.

===

Laundry day today. And I gotta TRY to get something done in the garage.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Brin - 2007-03-16 15:17:52 -
So basically, if you are currently receiving your education from Kent State, your tuition is providing part of the income of a White supremacist who resorts to profanity and threats of violence to make his feelings known. Frankly, I don't give a tin turkey who does or does not think their skin color matters more than the next guy -- I vehemently object to the ensuing violence and hatred that most of the [insert race here] supremacists insist on propagating.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.