Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Piggies

2007-04-02 - 11:50 a.m.

In the Bob News Dept.:

Went with Dave Kern to visit Bob in the hospital. Boy, he was glad to see us. He told me that the only people he'd really wanted to see were immediate family, his grandchildren, and the band. That made me feel a little better, since that meant we weren't intruding.

We stayed for about an hour. During the whole time, Bob was cheerful, animated, and articulate...despite the fact that he was in what Bill Engvall calls "Vicodin-land" ("You could take Vicodin, step out of the house, onto a freeway, have a truck hit you, and you'd say 'My bad!' "). He had gotten a report card from some bar customers, and we had passed with flying colors. He was pleased and proud of us.

We also got more info about the surgery. The artery in his leg is 80% blocked. Today, they are going to see if they can fix it using angioplasty instead of a bypass. If they can, the amputation happens Tuesday. Oh, and he's only looking at losing the little toe on his left foot...and possibly the "ring" toe also.

His daughter said losing two toes would be terrible. Bob replied that eight was his lucky number.

I told him that, if he suddenly got out of bed and said "April Fool", I was going to kill him. He roared.

I think he's gonna be okay.

===

Now, from the personal to the political.

The Democrats want to let the President's tax cuts expire. Which, according to the President, would amount to a $400 million tax increase.

Now, before you get into the mantra of "the rich need to pay their fair share", think about this: according to government figures from the "Projected Share of Individual Income Taxes and Income in 2005", the top 5% earned 31% of all income in 2005...and they paid 54.1% of all taxes. Seems to me like they pay more than their share already.

There's a whole explanation about it on Neal Boortz' site here that does a far better job than I could. Read it, please. It's pretty eye-opening.

===

Today's title, a classic Beatles track written by George Harrison, fits well...considering we've talked about toes and politicians.

Think about it.

===

Brin, God love her, found a new copy of the platinum DVD of this movie at a shockingly reasonable price (I had seen new copies going for over $100). It should be here today.

I think I'll stop by the post office and check.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Brin - 2007-04-02 14:56:56 -
Actually, in the interest of saving an enormous amount of confusion on the part of the seller, I left my payment settings as they usually are, and I have it here. But I promise it will arrive soon. :-)

===

Dave - 2007-04-02 15:05:31 - http://tooold2bcool.diaryland.com
Then I'll stay here, at least until I go to work. Hmmmm...where'z the remote...

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.