Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


A Change Would Do You Good

2007-04-23 - 12:07 p.m.

Welcome back from another weekend.

Bob did just fine on his first night back from surgery. He didn't walk around and shmooze, but he did sit and chat with everyone who came up to talk.

During a musical dead spot (I think Bob was tuning up), the remaining three of us started "It's Still Rock And Roll To Me". We all used to do this song long ago, and Bob picked it back up fairly quickly. Once that was over, he said (over the mic!), "That was great! Do another one that you did while I was gone!" So we went into Steve Miller's "Rockin' Me". Later in the evening, we also did about six others. Bob liked "Surrender" but was lukewarm on "I Want You To Want Me"...which is okay. I'm not a big fan of the live version; I'm actually one of the few that prefers the studio version.

Saturday night, I got to watch the Angels play Seattle. The Angels kept a big lead until Bettencourt - as a pinch-hitter - hit a grand slam in the 8th inning and made it 7-6. That was the final score; the Angels managed to hang on to the lead.

Sunday was a game night. I got to play some new ones again, meet some new people, and chat. I am so glad I found these folk.

Then I came home and learned about Sheryl Crow's daring new ideas to combat global warming...like this:

Crow (4/19, Springfield, Tenn.): I have spent the better part of this tour trying to come up with easy ways for us all to become a part of the solution to global warming. Although my ideas are in the earliest stages of development, they are, in my mind, worth investigating. One of my favorites is in the area of forest conservation which we heavily rely on for oxygen. I propose a limitation be put on how many squares of toilet paper can be used in any one sitting. Now, I don't want to rob any law-abiding American of his or her God-given rights, but I think we are an industrious enough people that we can make it work with only one square per restroom visit, except, of course, on those pesky occasions where 2 to 3 could be required.

Or THIS:

...I have designed a clothing line that has what's called a "dining sleeve." The sleeve is detachable and can be replaced with another "dining sleeve," after usage. The design will offer the "diner" the convenience of wiping his mouth on his sleeve rather than throwing out yet another barely used paper product. I think this idea could also translate quite well to those suffering with an annoying head cold.

Oh yeah...because there's nothing sexier than someone with snot on their sleeve. Better run right out and get it.

Crow's traveling partner, Laurie David, described her experience in Charlottesville thusly:

Tonight, I spoke outside the gorgeous Charlottesville pavilion, in front of a couple of thousand slightly inebriated college men (there to see the wonderful Robert Randolph and the Family Band) who were forced to sit through the opening act...me. Truly, it was one of the most challenging 20 minutes of my life. Out of the corner of my eye, I saw guys yawning, I heard kids saying "where's the music?" and I think I heard the "b" word. I rushed through the speech and when I walked off the stage I immediately burst into tears. Not because I took anything personally but because it was so clear how much work is still to be done. Tonight served as a stark reminder that social change is a journey and I learned tonight that not every stop is going to be easy.

Congratulations on learning that twenty minutes worth of preaching to the (drunken) non-converted is not going to change any minds...something that the Jehovah's Winesses never seem to learn. Come on - would YOU buy religion from a door-to-door salesman?

You CAN'T make this stuff up.

===

Last night I also caught the updated version of All Our Yesterdays. The space shots were nice, and the shot of the sun going nova are gorgeous. Again, kudos to the upgrade guys and fie on the editors who slice them up.

===

This morning I learned of the passing of Boris Yeltsin, the former Russian President. He was 76.

He was one of the men who tried to bring The Soviet Union out of Communism and into democracy, and on some points was very successful. He'd been living very quietly in retirement.

Condolences to his family and to his people.

===

Today I go pay the tax guy...and maybe I'll catch some lunch, if the Shakey's is still open. Mmmm, mojos...

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

artgnome - 2007-04-23 15:44:50 - http://artgnome.diaryland.com
celebrities need to understand just because they may be talented and pretty, it doesn't automatically make them smart enough to tackle the bigger issues at hand. very few of them have the intelligence required to speak out on current political, medical or environmental issues. I think a lot of them need to shut up and just do what they are known for doing, entertaining the masses. thanks for all the great info you share, Dave.

===

Brin - 2007-04-24 02:13:17 -
It's truly a pity how out of touch the general music industry professionals are, about everything. One wonders where they actually find feelings and passions and ideas to write about.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.