Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Hot Time In The Old Town

2007-05-09 - 11:25 a.m.

Well, last night was interesting...and you know what I mean by "interesting" when I start with that.

I was in the parking lot taking care of some trash, and came across this little guy:

Then I wondered why the sky was so dark...and I saw why:

I of course put in a call to 911 and found out they already knew. The fire was over on Miller St., perhaps a mile away. Within two minutes I heard a lot of sirens. So I headed back inside, figuring someone would let us know if we were in danger. No one did, so I guessed it was either a small structure fire or what the late Bill Keane at KNX 1070 used to call a "car-be-que". Turns out the fire was at a pallet factory, and was out by 9:30 pm.

We had someone call in sick, so we were short-handed again. We managed to get out at a reasonable time, though. So I stopped off at the store and got a couple cases of diet soda and headed home.

Then the evil NYPD Blue marathon on TNT got me again, and I stayed up way too late. Seems what they do is play four episodes in sequence, from 2am to 6am. on Tuesday nights. Then, the next Tuesday, they play the next four eps. And the story arc was one I'd been interested in back when it was on network TV, so I was up till about 4.

I know, I was stupid. I gotta quit doing this stuff.

===

This morning, I learned something interesting that I never knew before: if you live in Tuscon, AZ, you can burn an American flag but you can't burn a Mexican flag.

Wonder why that's fair.

===

Some of you may not know this:

There's an online petition for Gov. Ah-nold to pardon Paris Hilton. You can't make this stuff up - here it is. In the petition statement, it reads in part:

As depicted on Friday night's episode "Nancy Grace" on Headline News (May 4, 2007), countless celebrities have been "slapped on the wrist" for similar incidents recently. Nick Nolte, Mel Gibson, Tracy Morgan, Wynonna Judd, to name a few, were arrested and never did a day in jail after their initial arrests for drunk driving /DUI /DWI charges. Rappers Busta Rhymes and Eve still walk free after both being arrested for the same charges as Ms. Hilton just this past week. Brandy's California Highway accident, although no proof of DUI was evidenced in her accident, resulting in the death of a young wife and mother in California, yet Brandy walks free as of today, never doing any time and A WOMAN HAS BEEN KILLED most likely due to her reckless driving!

Now, I'm not sure about Brandy or the others, but Hilton was also driving on a suspended license. She was on probation for DUI. So she violated her probation AND drove without a valid license. That's why she's doing jail time. And Brandy is NOT free - she's out on bail. Notice that they completely miss those little factoids...but then, the writer has serious problems with grammatical structure, so "sins of omission" might be expected.

(And before you all think I'm getting a little holier-than-thou on the petition writer: my mom was an English major, and drummed such things as sentence structure into my skull. I still sometimes omit facts, but at least I'm coherent.)

Anyway, Mark Evanier came across this poll result. I agree with his comments.

===

Brin will be here soon. I have a couple things to do before I head to the airport.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.