Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Running Start

2007-05-10 - 11:24 a.m.

Well, I was sound asleep, until I got a work-related phone call that required the hamsters in my brain to hop on the wheel and start running.

Maybe I need to upgrade my brain hardware. Wonder how much it would cost to change over to gerbils.

Or ferrets.

===

It looks like three of the men who were planning to attack soldiers at Fort Dix came into the country illegally. Yes, it happened when they were children. But it still looks like they were smuggled in.

And yet again, where are the reports of peaceful Muslims speaking out? The crickets are louder.

===

Saw this joke over on Hud's blog:

The Reverends Jesse Jackson and Al Sharpton, while visiting a primary school class, found themselves in the middle of a discussion related to words and their meanings. The teacher asked both men if they would like to lead the discussion of the word "tragedy". So the illustrious Rev Jackson asks the class for an example of a "tragedy".

One little boy stood up and offered: "If my best friend, who lives on a farm, is playing in the field and a runaway tractor comes along and knocks him dead, that would be a tragedy."

"No," says the Great Jesse Jackson, "that would be an accident."

A little girl raised her hand: "If a school bus carrying 50 children drove over a cliff, killing everyone inside, that would be a tragedy."

"I�m afraid not," explains the exalted Reverend Al. "That�s what we would call a great loss." The room goes silent. No other children volunteer.

Reverend Al searches the room. "Isn�t there someone here who can give me an example of a tragedy?"

Finally at the back of the room little Johnny raises his hand. In a stern voice he says: "If a plane carrying the Reverends Jackson and Sharpton were struck by a missile and blown to smithereens that would be a tragedy."

"Fantastic!" exclaims Jackson and Sharpton, "That�s right. And can you tell me why that would be a tragedy?"

"Well," says little Johnny, "because it sure as hell wouldn�t be a great loss, and it probably wouldn�t be an accident either."

Heh.

===

Not much going on here. It's a kick-back day: Brin arrived safely yesterday and unfolded herself. The plan is to watch the Angels game and demolish a pizza, and then - if it's cooled down enough - head to Disneyland to walk around.

We'll play it by ear.

Shower's free.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.