Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Lifeline

2007-05-30 - 12:48 p.m.

Up really late again. Another set of NYPD Blue episodes...all shows I'd never seen.

There's a new boss, named Lt. Thomas Bale. He used to be with Internal Affairs (i.e., the Rat Squad), so he's got that against him already. Second, he wants to be kept up-to-the-minute on everything (so that, according to him, he can deal with the press, chief opf detectives, One Police Plaza, and anything else that comes up). The members of the squad aren't used to doing this, and they're having trouble adjusting...Andy, especially. Bale is played by an actor named Currie Graham, and he's very very good.

Meanwhile, Det. Clark is acting like an idiot, so that's another problem Andy's dealing with. He's about to explode, and it's gonna be messy.

This is good TV. I'm sorry I missed the first-run eps.

===

The other day, I happened to be in the right place at the right time. A bird had fallen into one of the pools and couldn't escape. He kept flapping his wings, but he was so wet that he couldn't get out. I got there in time to scoop him out and set him on dry land.

He wasn't interested in any other kind of help; he scuttled into the bushes and didn't want to come out. I tried to check on him...but he twittered deeper into the bushes.

I checked later, and he was gone. My hope is that he dried off and flew away. But we have been known to have feral cats on the grounds.

There's a Chinese proverb that states that when you save a life you become responsible for it. I tried to be. I can only hope that was good enough.

===

A couple in New York are accused of keeping two Indonesian women as slaves.

Ya know...I could've sworn this was the 21st century. And why hasn't Sharpton spoken out?

Oh yeah...the women are Indonesian.

===

The whales that found their way into the Sacremento River seem to be headed back to the ocean. There have been some health concerns for these two; they'd been exposed to fresh water (instead of the salt water of the ocean) for a long time, and there had been some wounds that seem to be from a boat's keel.

But they are healing and heading back to the ocean.

Godspeed.

===

From the I Didn't Write It Dept.:

"Fascist ethics begin ... with the acknowledgment that it is not the individual who confers a meaning upon society, but it is, instead, the existence of a human society which determines the human character of the individual. According to Fascism, a true, a great spiritual life cannot take place unless the State has risen to a position of pre-eminence in the world of man. The curtailment of liberty thus becomes justified at once, and this need of rising the State to its rightful position." [Mario Palmieri, "The Philosophy of Fascism" 1936]

"We must stop thinking of the individual and start thinking about what is best for society."
[Hillary Clinton, 1993]

===

Ewa Sowinska, Poland's spokesperson for children's rights, is asking psychologists to investigate if Tinky-Winky is gay.

She must be channelling Falwell.

===

Time to get on with the day.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.