Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Living In America

2007-07-19 - 9:49 a.m.

Up earlier than usual because the Angels are playing Tampa Bay. The game started at 9:10am, and it's on FSN.

I'll catch a nap later.

===

In the It's The American Way Dept.:

We all remember Daniel Pearl, right? He was the reporter who was kidnapped and beheaded by al-Qaeda operatives.

His story was told in the current movie A Mighty Heart. The one that stars Angelina Jolie.

Yeah, THAT guy.

Well, his widow has come up with a way to get back at al-Qaeda - she's suing them.

If this works, I predict a class-action lawsuit by the city of New York for the events of 9/11. Then again, why stop there? It could be said that 9/11 affected all Americans. Even if the award was $1/American citizen, that would still be at least $2 billion, right?

Hey, if they brought down Al Capone through tax evasion...

===

Rep. Don Young (R-Ala.), in an attack against fellow Republicans, said they wanted "my money".

Gee, I coulda sworn it was the taxpayer's money. My mistake.

===

In the Money Can't Buy You Common Sense Dept.:

I don't give a shit if you DO own a BMW - don't park next to a fire hydrant.

===

Gonna watch the game, then run some errands. I have a couple things waiting for me at the post office.

Then, sheltering at home.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

John - 2007-07-19 13:27:18 - http://foundertruth.diaryland.com/
re: the Daniel Pearl wrongful death suit, the outcome depends on how the international courts rule regarding the jurisdiction issues, and if the court which will actually try the case is known to be honest. There are, fortunately, legal precedents already set by the court rulings made in the related cases, so the prosecution at least has caselaw to cite, and there's a clear paper trail, and the Habib Bank Limited is a pretty deep pocket. Hopefully, whichever court tries the case will do the ethically and morally correct thing. re: Don Young, all you have to do is look at his record to know he's just another career politician without a clue. I say dump him. In fact, as a supporter of the DRIP philosophy (Do Not Return Incumbent Politicians) I say dump 'em all.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.