Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Fly, Robin, Fly

2007-08-28 - 2:21 a.m.

So anyway...

...hey - it's almost 2:30am! WTF am I doing making an entry this early?

Simple. One of the other supervisors at work has jury duty and, since he switched with ME when I served, I switched with HIM.

Fair is fair, after all.

===

In the I Dun A Good T'ing Dept.:

A customer tells me there's a bird stuck in a tree. I get a ladder, go and look and sure enough - he's hanging upside down like a bat, fluttering his wings in an effort to get free. The bird (species unknown - picture a sparrow with black feathers) looks very bedraggled, like he's been doing this for awhile. But his eyes are bright, and he's watching me very carefully.

I climb up and take a closer look. It seems that, somehow, something that looks like light-gauge fishing line is in the tree, and this poor guy got his leg caught in the string!

So I (gently) try to get him free...and he takes out some of his frustration on my hand. He actually tries to bite me. Now, before you all flip out...I understand why. I don't hold it against him at all - I'm a big human, and he's pissed at the world right now. It was just funny - he's trying to attack my hand by biting it, not pecking it.

Well, I couldn't break the line, but I did manage to break the branch it was tied to. The bird instantly flaps off, carrying a 1 1/2in bit of tree with him...but he's gaining altitude, so he's still strong.

I figure he'll find a nice flat spot and get the string off his leg. Maybe someday he'll see me and get a feeling of gratitude.

I'll settle for him and his friends not making a mess on my car.

===

I looked for a button image for a link to this site and can't find one.

If anyone wants to send me one (or make one and send me a link) I'll pick a good one and it'll appear in the mix of stuff to your left.

It should be the same size as the Chickweed/Girl Genius/Pibgorn buttons - 88 x 30 at 72 dpi.

WARNING: This site contains cute images of various fuzzy things with silly captions. Diabetics, take note of possible overdose.

===

Took a look at the moon just now. It's about 1/3 covered. But it's too bright for my camera, so I can't take a good picture.

But it's very cool looking.

===

Well, I have to be awake in about 6 hours. Bedtime for bozo.

Be seeing you.



===

3 comments so far

artgnome - 2007-08-28 07:32:08 - http://artgnome.diaryland.com
Hey Dave, I made you a little button. Send me an email address and I will get it to you.

===

Dave - 2007-08-28 21:41:27 -
I'll post it here, in a clever fashion:
Delta Bravo Michael Echo Sierra Quebec @ Yankee Alpha Hotel Oscar Oscar.com
Cool?

===

Brin - 2007-08-28 22:16:16 -
Hey, Dave? Did you want me to change the 'Contact' image map up there so that it says 'Email Me'? People have a difficult time finding MINE, too!

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.