Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


The Heat Is On

2007-10-04 - 10:30 a.m.

Last night I got the Guitar Freaks game converted and linked to the DrumMania game. Everything works, nothing blew up. Yay me!

Also last night, I think I scared off some taggers. They were in the alley, kneeling down by a garage door. I made some noise in my kitchen and let them see me moving around. I didn't look at them, but just let myself be seen. Immediately, they stood up and assumed the I-wasn't-doing-nothing look that I've seen SO many times in the arcade (any of you with kids, you know that look, right?).

I turned off my kitchen light, went and got my glasses, and went back to the darkened kitchen to take another look. They were gone - but there's a big black spot on that garage door where they had been kneeling down.

I didn't do anything else - that might have drawn unwanted attention to myself. And since I didn't have my glasses, I didn't get a good enough look to mean anything.

But it still felt like I did a Good Thing.

===

Brin and Bob would probably know more about this: at Oakland Airport, a group of Maries on layover were not allowed into the passenger terminal. Instead, they had to deplane about 400 yards away.

Why? I don't know. According to this article, it was for security reasons - they didn't know the plane had already been screened, and the Marines had already deplaned twice, in Germany and New York.

That may be so. But think how it looks. Permission to dock the Battleship Iowa in San Francisco was denied. Permission for the Navy's Blue Angels to participate in an air show over San Francisco Bay was opposed. And last week, permission for the U.S. Marine Corps Silent Drill Platoon to film a recruitment commercial on California Street in San Francisco was denied.

It sure looks like the SF Bay area doesn't like the armed forces. Maybe Brin and Bob can shed some light on this.

===

Danish scientists have performed a study that refutes claims made by a UK scientists' study made in July - the one where the UK scientists claimed the sun had nothing to do with global warming.

The science is not "done".

===

Britney is getting advice from a former child star who melted down:

From one child star to another: Tatum O'Neal says Britney Spears needs to be in recovery and get her disease of addiction under control so she can address being a mother.

The 43-year-old actress shared her thoughts on the troubled pop star with "Entertainment Tonight" in an interview that aired Wednesday night.

"I relate to her and feel really sad for her," O'Neal said, adding that she had similar experiences as a young mother. "I did everything ... that she doesn't want to do. I did the drug testing. ... It was very humbling. ... I wanted those kids in my life."

This week a judge ordered Spears, 25, to temporarily surrender custody of her sons, Sean Preston, 2, and Jayden James, 1, to ex-husband Kevin Federline. She was also ordered to undergo random drug and alcohol testing and take parenting classes as part of her ongoing custody dispute with Federline.

Spears needs treatment and she needs to shield her children from media attention, O'Neal said.

O'Neal won an Oscar at age 10 after co-starring with her father, Ryan O'Neal, in "Paper Moon" in 1973.

She has three children from her marriage to John McEnroe.

Unfortunately, stars tend to be surrounded by yes-men. Britney needs people who will smack her upside the head and tell her the truth.

===

Day off today. Most of the laundry is already done.

Well, I'll find something to do.

Be seeing you.



===

4 comments so far

Smed - 2007-10-04 14:38:33 - http://smedindy.diaryland.com
Check out my playoff preview. Sorry, no Angels love, but I'm a Cubs fan. You won your World Series, let me win mine!

===

Dave - 2007-10-04 15:56:16 -
Hey, that's cool. If it's not the Angels, let it be the underdogs.

===

Brin - 2007-10-05 08:54:11 -
There's one Supe who generally has his knickers in a knot when it comes to this stuff; Chris Daly. And the GG Bridge District is uber strict about when the bridge can be used for filming; currently the spin the district's BoD is putting on things is that the military people didn't feel like showing up for the only available time for filming, namely SUNDAY MORNING at 0700! Shyeahright.

===

Bob - 2007-10-05 08:55:27 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
The Marines *were* screened in New York, but instead of doing so in Oakland, the decision was made to hold them away from the terminal. I think it's more of a bureaucratic FUBAR than anything else, but if you didn't want them in the terminal, fricking make allowances for family to get to the plane on the tarmac. If you don't have the security apparatus and procedures to allow for this, how the hell are you going to defend against a real security breach?

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.