Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Beat It

2007-11-21 - 10:50 a.m.

Well, it seems I've come down with something.

I've had headaches for the last couple days, and was nauseous yesterday.

There hasn't been any real change in my routine, although there is some construction going on in laser tag.

Well, I'll get my flu shot at Thanksgiving.

===

In the You Gotta Be Kidding Dept.:

The UN wants to make sure that Islam is not blamed for terrorism...which is interesting, since a good number of terrorist acts have been performed in the name of Islam. But then, to be fair, Islamic law is responsible for other things, like whipping a rape victim and putting her in jail.

This happened in Saudi Arabia, the very same country where Islamic religious police actually kept young girls from escaping a burning school because they weren't wearing head coverings. These "police officers" were actually pushing them back into the building as they tried to get out.

In the article linked above, Saudi Arabia is in fact defending the ruling, and punishing the rape victim's lawyer for going to the media and complaining.

Isn't this "peace-loving", "serene" religion grand?

===

Speaking of the UN...

Over in Hud's blog, there's a link to a report that the UN has been fudging its numbers a bit on the AIDS epidemic.

A bit? Try overstating by 40%.

Interesting quote that Hud put up in the comments section. He's talking about the ban on DDT:

In the 1960s, World Health Organization authorities believed there was no alternative to the overpopulation problem but to assure than up to 40 percent of the children in poor nations would die of malaria. As an official of the Agency for International Development stated, �Rather dead than alive and riotously reproducing.�

[Desowitz, RS. 1992. Malaria Capers, W.W. Norton & Company]

Lovely organization, eh?

"I got it! I know how we can run everybody out of Rock Ridge...We'll kill the firstborn male child of every household."
"Too Jewish."
- Slim Pickens and Harvey Korman,
"Blazing Saddles"

===

So. Michael Vick has turned himself in.

Here's your laugh for the day. His lawyer, Billy Martin had this to say:

"From the beginning, Mr. Vick has accepted responsibility for his actions, and his self-surrender further demonstrates that acceptance."

Oh bullshit. He lied to the Falcons owner, he lied to the NFL commissioner, he lied to the fans, he lied to the media...he didn't "accept responsibility" until his co-conspiritors copped pleas and started testifying against him!

Excuse me. I need to get my hip boots for all this Bandini.

===

Well, I'll be traveling tomorrow, so I need to get my oil changed.

I'm going to try to post tomorrow. If I don't, have a happy Thanksgiving.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Bob - 2007-11-22 07:14:24 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
And let's not forget that the Saudis are our 'friends' ...

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.