Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Circle In The Sand

2007-11-27 - 10:49 a.m.

Well, it looks like my cell phone battery has died. I charged it for over 90 minutes yesterday, and it lasted for another 90 minutes before going dead...and I had only sent three text messages.

I made a phone call when it had all four battery indicator bars. Seven minutes into the call, I got the "low battery" beep in my ear.

So I'm out eary to go to the Verizon store and replace it. I may stop over at one of my favorite places for lunch.

===

According to Bill Richardson, governor of New Mexico, lower casualty counts in Iraq aren't a measure of progress.

Ya know...for the last few years, the biggest talking point for the Democrats was the number of deaths in Iraq. But now, violence at a low point, this is all changing. According to Richardson, real progress can only be achieved by withdrawing from Iraq.

So, let me get this straight: according to Hillary's soon-to-be running mate, there is only one way to define progress in Iraq - how fast we withdraw. Less violence, more peace, more commerce, more electricity, more water, more telephones...and an improving standard of living for the Iraqi people - all of that has nothing to do with anything. You can only define progress by counting the numbers of American troops leaving the country.

After all, ANY success in Iraq might make the President look good...and we can't have any of that, right?

Maybe they've been taking lessons from the global warming scientists who say that the sun's activity has nothing to do with anything.

===

Speaking of global warming...

How can you take this report seriously when the hurricane predictors are being called onto the carpet for inaccurately predicting the number and severity of hurricanes?

Oh that's right...all AGW nay-sayers are in the pockets of the government/big oil/nuclear advocates/etc. If that's true, then I haven't been getting my checks.

===

Well, time to head out to the Verizon store. Hopefully the line won't be too bad.

Be seeing you.



===

4 comments so far

artgnome - 2007-11-27 14:18:52 - http://artgnome.diaryland.com
I've been told that verizon is the devil. is that true?

===

Dave - 2007-11-27 14:50:38 -
Lately there have been some delays in text messages reaching my phone in a timely manner. However, my calls are very seldom dropped and the service has been very good overall. Many of my friends and co-workers are also on Verizon, so all calls/text to them are not counted against my allowance. I've been pretty satisfied with them, all in all.

===

Brin - 2007-11-27 14:54:09 -
It's the VHS versus Beta thing. There turned out to be so many of our friends on Verizon that John and I finally surrendered and switched from our previous carrier. Every wireless phone service of any denomination has carrier issues at some point, but Verizon has that very nice policy of not charging its customers to be on the phone with one another. :-)

===

Bob - 2007-11-28 08:21:02 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
I believe Richardson's point is that the 'reduction' in casualties is relative to February 2006 - when they had already begun spiraling upward. And it would also mean we've been effectively LOSING for close to two years. And Hillary was the candidate who said withdrawal might not be possible until 2013, so I can't see what you're complaining about.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.