Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Gimme Some

2007-12-10 - 11:05 a.m.

Well, Solange has picked something up - her left eye has been swollen and weepy. Brin and I think that Solange may have gotten into somewhere dusty, so we've cleaned and vacuumed and dusted everywhere we can find. Solange's eye is better - she seems to be doing better in the dark as opposed to a brightly lit room - so we're watching closely for any setbacks.

More bulletins as events warrant.

Oh wait...I promised a picture, didn't I? It's a big picture - you've been warned.

===

Brin and I went to the Park last night. Check her entry for the write-up.

===

The WGA strike continues. I don't watch a lot of current TV - I frequently visit TV Land or at Nite I'm at Nick - so I'm really not missing much. However, Mark Evanier has a post today that makes an interesting observation. Right now, the producer's group is saying, basically, that there will be no more negotiations until six items that the WGA want are off the table. The producers - collectively, the AMPTP - won't even go back to the table unless the WGA gives up on these items.

One of the items the writers want - although I don't know if this is one of the six the AMPTP are demanding they give up on - is compensation when something is streamed over the internet. Probably not much, a cent or two per viewing. Here's Mark's observation (emphasis mine):

In a sense, the AMPTP position is self-refuting. They're arguing there's no guaranteed money to be made on the Internet but they're willing to endure a long strike and screw up most other facets of their business in order to not share that "no money" with us.

If we are truly asking for cash that doesn't exist, it's real easy to arrive at a formula that handles that: We get X% of whatever does come in...or Y% of whatever comes in after $Z has been earned. Something of that sort. For the most part, the AMPTP is still sticking with "There's no money there so we won't discuss sharing it with anyone." Which is not a logical position and, of course, the "no money" part is not what they're telling their stockholders.

He's right - if there's no money there, why are they fighting so hard against sharing it? Or, if there's no money there, why are the AMPTP wasting their money on it?

===

From Hud's blog: Al Gore is really raking it in for his AGW speeches...even if they're re-runs. Maybe he knows something the WGA doesn't.

But then, he's got to pay for all that electricity and jet fuel.

===

If it's Monday, it must be Mark Steyn.

===

Well, things need to be done before I go to work.

Be seeing you.



===

3 comments so far

artgnome - 2007-12-10 14:13:28 - http://artgnome.diaryland.com
I could not view the picture of your newest addition, it shows the diaryland error page. If you need assistance resizing your pictures, just email them to me and I will be happy to do just that. So glad to hear you have a furry companion!

===

artgnome - 2007-12-10 14:15:03 - http://artgnome.diaryland.com
of course now, diaryland lets me see it and she is a lovely siamese! Who already has a most luxurious bed of her own, of which I'm sure she always forgoes for yours.

===

Dave - 2007-12-10 14:20:10 -
Wanna bet? She'd rather sleep under my covers, at my feet. I'd worry that it's my socks causing her eye to water, but only ONE eye is affected, so it can't be that...

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.