Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Baby, It's Cold Outside

2007-12-11 - 11:25 a.m.

Well, we may have found what was causing Solange's eye to water up. Her cat litter is very dusty, and I got a big enclosed litter box to help keep the smell under control and keep litter from being splashed everywhere. Brin took the lid off, and voila - Solange's eye is much much better.

We went to the store and looked, but saw no brands of litter that advertise themselves as "low dust". Any suggestions for good litter? Click the CONTACT button in the upper left.

Kthnxbai.

===

Well, it's been down in the 40s in the Too Old Neighborhood. For once, Brin didn't bring all that warm air. Either that, or Al Gore is full of it. You decide.

Speaking of His Goreness - we have a story here about a report published in the International Journal Of Climatology. Three scientists did extensive research and determined that climate change is "unstoppable" - as in, natural:

According to Dr. Douglass: �The observed pattern of warming, comparing surface and atmospheric temperature trends, does not show the characteristic fingerprint associated with greenhouse warming. The inescapable conclusion is that the human contribution is not significant and that observed increases in carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases make only a negligible contribution to climate warming.�

Also, Hud reports that a UK climate researcher who has sent the UN a list of errors in AGW reporting has been told not to appear at the conference in Bali:

"UN organizers refused my credentials and appeared desperate that I should not come to this conference. They have also made several attempts to interfere with our public meetings," Monckton explained.

Monckton's information apparently did cause changes to be made in some of the reports, but those changes were announced very quietly, unlike the hoopla when the "hockey-stick" graph was announced.

Oh, that's right - all the anti-AGW folks are on the payroll of big oil.

===

Brin tagged me to complete a meme. Usually I don't do these, but what the hell...

Five Things I Just Don�t Get:
1) How people call rap music "music"
2) Graffiti
3) Drivers who don't use a turn signal
4) The entitlement mentality
5) Hillary Worship

Five Things, Other Than Money, I Wish I Had More Of:
1) Sleep
2) Time with my boardgaming group
3) Space
4) Quiet pet-time
5) Bookshelves

Five Least Favorite Words or Phrases:
1) "What-EVER."
2) "You don't know me."
3) Being "on the rag" - both for the "period" and the attitude
4) "We need to talk."
5) "You don't have a [whatever expensive toy is being discussed]??"

Five Famous People I�ve Spoken With In Person (all Very Nice People):
1) John Ritter
2) Alan Moore
3) Mark Evanier
4) Danielle Fishel
5) Billy Mumy

Five Things I Do Nearly Daily That I Don�t Enjoy:
1) Waking up
2) Getting the car out of the garage (no garage door opener - so I have to unlock, open the door, back the car out, close the door, and lock it - no fun in the rain)
3) Putting the car back into the garage (see above, but change "back out" to "drive in")
4) Dealing with people who refuse to take responsibility for their own choices
5) Cleaning the litter box (but Solange's presence here more than makes up for it)

Five Things I Wish I Had The Chance To Do More Often:
1) Play board games with my group
2) Sit with a good book
3) Sing onstage
4) Go to Disneyland
5) Relax

Five Things I Have Actually Done That Sound Like Lies:
1) Wrote for the STAR WARS RPG
2) Sang at my ex-wife's first wedding
3) Auditioned for a game show
4) Interviewed by a TV news-crew
5) Helped a famous person buy miniature golf anonymously - his Security Guy paid in advance, we brought him in through the back entrance, put him on a course by himself...but several customers saw him, so the game was up almost immediately. Who was it? Some basketball player.

Five People I Hope Will Fill This Out:
I don't know five people I'd foist this on to.

Whew.

===

Okay. Lunch, then work.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Smed - 2007-12-12 09:53:12 - http://smedindy.diaryland.com
Fred Singer, one of the authors of the study, has stated in an affadavit that he worked for the oil industry. He also worked on a group trying to debunk the notion of secondhand tobacco smoke. Douglass is not an atmospheric physicist. His specialty is condensed matter physics. Christy actually believes in climate change, just not the greenhouse effect. This paper only studied one sliver of the whole climate shebang. Ask them about why Greenland and the Arctic are melting. Go ahead. They don't know.

===

Dave - 2007-12-12 14:14:18 -
The key word is "worked"...as in, "he used to". Hell, I used to manage a service station about twenty years ago - so in a sense I worked for the "oil industry" too. That's not why I'm a skeptic.

As for the Arctic and Greenland ice - satellite photos show that the surface area is smaller, but exploratory ships have reported that the ice is THICKER. And the ice in the Antarctic is GROWING. One shrinks, one grows...could it be (gasp) cyclical??

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.