Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Some Of My Lies Are True (Sooner Or Later)

2008-01-09 - 10:42 a.m.

Solange is picking up on my habits.

She now knows that, when I take a shower, I'm going out. She'll sit on the bathmat while I'm in the shower, with the big-eyed don't-leave-me look. All together, now: Awwwwwww.

It's been a month since I got her, so it's time to get more Frontline flea treatment. I'll do that today before I go to work.

===

The political commercials are starting up here in California. Whee.

So, here's election news. There's an article here about the voter ID issue. In Indiana, the state Supreme Court is hearing the issue, and it seems the opponents - who claim that voter ID wil "block poor, minority and elderly voters who lack ID from voting" - can't produce an actual verifiable instance of it happening.

And if you don't have ID, you can still vote:

Since then, liberal groups have pointed to last November's mayoral election in Indianapolis as giving real-life examples of people prevented from voting. The 34 voters out of 165,000 who didn't have the proper ID were allowed to cast a provisional ballot, and could have had their votes counted by going to a clerk's office within 10 days to show ID or sign an affidavit attesting to their identity. Two chose to do so, but 32 did not.

Indeed, a new study by Jeffrey Milyo of the Truman Institute of Public Policy on Indiana's voter turnout in 2006 did not find evidence that counties with more poor, elderly or minority voters had "any reduction in voter turnout relative to other counties."

Got that? THIRTY-TWO people out of thirty-FOUR didn't bother to verify their identity. Whose fault is that?

You already have to show ID to travel, cash a check, or any other myriad of items. And you're not being asked to attach your name to the ballot - it's still a secret vote. And before you start with the "they'll have a record of who voted", in my neighborhood they cross your name off a computer-printed list and you have to sign before you get your ballot. So they already have a "record of who voted".

I think it's a good idea.

===

And now, the items that the title links to.

From the You Can't Make This Stuff Up Dept.:

At least the guy won't sue for defamation because of the headline.

These from FARK: A teenager fleeing from the police tried to escape by going onto the M1 freeway...on foot. Bad idea.

A thief broke into a person's garage and stole fuel for the thief's car. Problem was, it wasn't "red diesel" fuel - it was heating oil...which wrecked the car's engine.

In Australia, a teenager blames marijuana for his stealing. He broke into a wildlife park and stole an alligator and two monkeys.

And...talk about a bad hair day...

===

Well, I need to get some things done before work. Onward.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Bob - 2008-01-10 10:22:04 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
I'm just surprised we haven't hit on a solution like printouts that include a thumbnail photo of the person. No match, no vote. Identification is taken care of in advance and properly vetted (though this would run afoul of driver's license and ID programs for illegal immigrants). I will, however, opine that something like a national ID card won't solve the problem.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.