Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Big Boss Man

2008-01-14 - 12:46 p.m.

Well, I headed out to Disneyland last night. I just needed to get out and walk. The tram guy said the Park closed at midnight, and I got there about 9:15. I walked in just as they announced that the fireworks had been canceled due to high winds.

So I started walking to various attractions. Peter Pan, ToonTown, and Buzz Lightyear were all closed. So I did the Matterhorn and Space Mountain, and then found out Buzz had re-opened. Did Buzz, got my highest score yet, and then did Big Thunder.

Since it was only 11:15, I headed for the Mansion...which was closed. I went to Critter Country...which was closed. I headed for Pirates...which was closed. I headed for Indiana Jones...which was closed. It was spooky - there was no one in those areas except for the employees. I asked one and found out they closed at 11, not midnight. No wonder everyone was gone.

I walked around Main Street, picked up a couple things, and then came home. A nice few hours, but man...Disneyland looks so strange when it's empty.

===

Carl Karcher, founder of the Carl's Jr. restaurant chain, passed away on Friday.

I'm a regular patron of CJs, and I actually met the man when I was working for a tire store. I went to the nearby CJs (which was the one right next to their corporate offices) and there he was - getting ready to get lunch like anybody else. I introduced myself, and he looked at my work uniform and said, "You work at 4day Tires? You guys do a great job."

Here's a CEO, in a three-piece suit, telling me that my company does a great job.

I thanked him and we had our separate lunches. That was over 25 years ago, and I never forgot it.

===

In the High-way To Heaven Dept.:

In Amsterdam, a man claiming to be a priest tried to get on a plane without being searched by saying "it was not allowed" under his religion. Security guards did search him, and found packets strapped to the man's legs.

The "priest" claimed it was "holy sand". It was, of course, cocaine.

"It's used in our religious ceremonies! We snort it, and we see God! Yeah, that's it - that's the ticket!"

===

In the What Dumbshits Dept.:

A couple break into a woman's home and find the keys to her SUV. They steal the SUV. They find a disposable camera (the victim had it in case of an accident, so she could take pictures of any damage). They take pictures of themselves in the stolen SUV. Then, when there's an attempted traffic stop, the two men flee on foot - leaving the camera in the vehicle.

And, a teenager in Australia throws a party while his parents are gone...for 500 people. The police will be billing him for the cost of breaking it up.

But wait, there's more - a drunk guy crashes his car into a guy's yard and abandons it. But the police track him down because he left a trail of footprints - he stepped in a pile of dog shit.

===

Time to get on with the day.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.