Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


See You In September (or November or December)

2008-01-21 - 1:32 p.m.

Next week, we have a gig at the Queen Mary - we're playing a wedding reception. Well, they moved us to another room. So I headed to the QM to check out the new location - after all, we needed to know where all the electrical outlets are, in relation to the stage.

After that, I came home and caught the end of the Green Bay/Giants game. Good ending - I'm not a football fan, but watching the Giants' kicker make that last OT field goal, especially after he'd already blown two CLOSER ones, was pretty exciting.

Then I took a trip to the Park. Brin informed me that Small World will be closing for a ten-month refurbishing. This will be the last weekend that it'll be open - after today, it'll be closed until late in the year.

So I got to watch the clock strike, and then I rode it one last time. My ex loves Small World, and I'd ride it because she did. This was one of the few times I rode it on my own. They still had the holiday theme up - the tune was a meld of "Jingle Bells", "Deck The Halls", and "Small World". Eep.

Note that those are ALL non-Christmas songs. In fact, they butchered "Deck The Halls", most likely in the name of political correctness. Here's the lyric to the song - they cut the lines in boldface:

Deck the halls with boughs of holly,
Fa la la la la la, la la la la.
Tis the season to be jolly,
Fa la la la la la, la la la la.
Don we now our gay apparel,
Fa la la, la la la, la la la.
Troll the ancient Yuletide carol,
Fa la la la la la, la la la la.

See the blazing Yule before us,
Fa la la la la la, la la la la.
Strike the harp and join the chorus.
Fa la la la la la, la la la la.

Follow me in merry measure,
Fa la la, la la la, la la la.
While I tell of Yuletide treasure,
Fa la la la la la, la la la la.

Fast away the old year passes,
Fa la la la la la, la la la la.
Hail the new, ye lads and lasses,
Fa la la, la la la, la la la.
Sing we joyous, all together,
Fa la la la la la, la la la la.

Heedless of the wind and weather,
Fa la la la la la, la la la la.

See that? All references to actual Christmas cut out. Ain't PC great?

===

Here in California, there was a plan to install government-controlled thermostats in homes and businesses. Well, the government dropped the idea after a public outcry.

They are instead going to try to make the plan voluntary. Like vampires, you have to invite them in.

More Nanny State stupidity here.

===

A couple weeks ago I talked about a Marine who got his car keyed by a lawyer who disliked the military, and the lawyer then used legal tactics so he wouldn't be prosecuted. Well, we have an update. He got his day in court...and he showed up thirty minutes late while trying to avoid the media.

The judge didn't like that - and issued a warrant for the lawyer's arrest. When the lawyer showed, "he received a $600 fine, which will go to a Marine charity, 30 hours of community service and a year of court supervision".

He got off lucky - he could have been charged with a felony.

===

In Britain, some Muslim leaders want to integrate sharia law into British common law...as in, having sharia legal decisions (based on the Koran) apply to non-Muslims as well.

Right now, a sharia court's decisions are not legally binding - both sides simply must agree to comply. but these leaders want to change that.

===

If it's Monday, it must be time for Mark Steyn.

===

Well, I have lots to do.

Oh, and Happy Martin Luther King Jr. Day.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Bob - 2008-01-22 08:45:37 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
I'm leery of using Wikipedia as the basis of any understanding of British Common Law, but there are significant differences between British Common Law and what we consider 'law' in America. For example, there is (again, according to Wikipedia) no actual law against murder in the U.K., but it is accepted as a crime because of precedent and previous rulings. So I'm not sure if this is quite the slippery slope you suggest, or if it's a means of getting Shari'a applied to cases where a Muslim man may be married to a non-Muslim woman, etc. ... and I think Parliament would be the final arbitrating body on what gets incorporated how.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.