Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Colors

2008-03-03 - 12:29 p.m.

Well, this last weekend the winds picked up and the weather cooled down. It dropped down into the 50s for a day, and now it's back up into the 70s.

So the pro-AGW machine brought the temperature down, but those evil corporations brought it back up!

[Kronk]
Riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight.
[/Kronk]

===

Those of you who read Brin's blog have noticed her railing at the new design of Diaryland's pages - not the diaries themselves, but the internal pages.

Personally, I wasn't a fan of the old splash page. There were child-like drawings of flowers and the link items were in a font to make them look child- and crayon-written. The other pages, such as the "add an entry" page, were fine - light pleasant colors. Now they've gone to a set of darker colors. Maybe it was to make it look more "tech", I don't know. But we've been told by Andrew, aka Da Boss, that there will be more adjustments as feedback comes in.

I'm currently neutral on the color scheme. I may form an opinion later - I really haven't interacted much with the new pages, since I don't post on the weekend. So maybe later in the week I'll have a yes/no opinion.

For right now...nothing.

===

Last Friday, I showed up for the gig and found that, while we DID have speakers, we did NOT have monitors...and it was too late to get ours there.

Well, we wound up playing without them, and we did okay. Bob's throat was shot, so I wound up singing most of the songs...including his. Some were a little shaky, especially the ones where I usually sing harmony since I'm used to MY part, and not Bob's. But we did pretty well, especially on "Midnight Special".

Hopefully he'll be back up to speed on Friday.

===

So there's a new Hillary ad showing a sleeping child and asking parents who they want answering the phone at the White House and keeping their children safe. Never mind that Walter Mondale ran such an ad when he was up against Gary Hart (which was about 20 years ago - maybe they thought no one would remember).

Okay. So what they're saying is, Hillary can handle crisis calls. How do we know this? What foreign policy crises has she handled to claim such experience? Well...

Responding to the release of HRC's new TX TV ad, which asserts in no subtle terms that only she has the experience to deal with a major world crisis, and, relatedly, to keep your children safe, Slate's John Dickerson asked the obvious question:

"What foreign policy moment would you point to in Hillary's career where she's been tested by crisis?" he said.

Go here to listen to the reply...or lack thereof. There was silence for several seconds. Then the answers they came up with were that she "stood up in China for women's rights" and that she was "endorsed" by "twenty-seven members or the armed forces", which they go on to name. No real answer to the question.

No surprise there. Her "experience" came from watching Bill...unless SHE was telling him what to do and say. If she was a puppetmaster running the Clinton presidency, she'll never admit to it.

===

This will be a busy week for me. I have a dentist appointment on Wednesday and the tax guy on Friday, along with the usual week-stuff.

And to top it off, I've started playing this game again.

Sleep? What's that?

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Brin - 2008-03-03 15:35:05 -
Actually, if the phone rings at three in the morning and Hillary answers it, the next thing out of her face would probably be "God dammit, Bill, I'm not gonna bail you out this time."

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.