Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Tumbling Dice

2008-03-04 - 12:55 p.m.

Got the word today that a gentleman named E. Gary Gygax passed away.

Most of you have likely never heard of him. He created a little game called Dungeons & Dragons, which has arguably changed gaming forever. I know it changed MY life. I was in high school at the time, and I met a gentleman in my karate class who invited me to CSUF to play with his gaming group. I met a bunch of folks that were my friends for several years. We played lots of role-playing and board games over those years, and I was allowed to be as creative and nuts as I wanted to be. I really came out of my shell back then, and it was all due to fictional characters on pieces of paper that I had created. For that, I'll always be grateful - to that group and to Gygax.

I'm sure that, now, he knows if God plays dice with the universe.

===

Is this the last day for Hillary? We'll know soon. The primary contests four states happen today; the big two are Texas and Ohio. If she wins either one, then she'll take it as a sign that she's destined to be queen president.

If she loses both, she still may not give up. She's worked for this her entire adult life - she's not going to go away easily.

===

Okay, this is taking the concept of being a good neighbor too far:

BAKER COUNTY, Fla. -- A woman is accused of borrowing a gun from a neighbor and then shooting and killing her husband Monday in their home south of Macclenny, according to the Baker County Sheriff's Office.

Investigators said Meloney Jackson borrowed a gun from a neighbor, entered the house in the 7000 block of John Rowe Street and shot Kevin Jackson.

Quote from FARK: "Hi, I'm your neighbor. Could I borrow a cup of sugar, two eggs, and a gun to kill my husband?"

===

Also from FARK: a seventeen-year-old failed while carjacking, so he took public transportation home...with the shotgun still in his lap. He was photographed with the shotgun on his lap, and subsequently arrested.

Obviously a future Darwin Award winner.

===

Okay, I have things to do. At least at work, I won't be bombarded with election news.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.