Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Flying

2008-03-06 - 10:11 a.m.

Survived my trip to the dentist. All is well - my gums are healing, and my teeth are strong with no new cavities.

Yay me.

===

Okay, I can understand some of the anger here. American Airlines flew a plane from Chicago to London with just five passengers on it. The environmental group Friends Of The Earth is screaming bloody murder about CO2 use and waste of jet fuel...which does make sense.

But AA tried to make other accomodations for not only these five, but for the hundreds of folk that would be flying BACK to the USA from London. Unfortunately, there was no way to do this - a plane HAD to be sent to London to take those other passengers. What were they supposed to do - walk across the Atlantic?

I'm sure airlines fly non-filled planes to locations all the time. After all, it's not like they can unbolt the wings and take them on the freeway.

===

Speaking of flying...

Hey, Brin (and all other travelers who take their laptops with them) - don't fly to Denver, if you can avoid it.

===

Brace yourself. This story doesn't say whether it was in the name of Islam or not...but it's still really sick:

A Syrian man decapitated his 15-month-old nephew with a knife before his mother's eyes at a supermarket in Jeddah, according to an Arab News report.

The 25-year-old man beheaded the baby following a dispute with his sister and brother-in-law in front of stunned shoppers at the Al-Marhaba supermarket Tuesday morning, police say.

"The murderer was in a dispute with the boy's mother and her husband," a police officer who would not release his name told Arab News. "He chopped off the boy's head in front of the mother to get back at her."

The baby's mother and a nearby shopper fainted while other witnesses stood in shock over the grisly murder. The mother is hospitalized.

There really is no truly justifiable reason for beheading a baby boy just to "get back at" his mother. I wonder if some imam will declare that this scumbag DID have a right to do so.

===

Well, I have many things to do today. I have to go to a business and try to get a duplicate of a receipt - for tomorrow is Tax Guy Day.

Kiss a baby.

Be seeing you.



===

3 comments so far

Brin - 2008-03-06 13:19:00 -
Airlines do this a lot; Southwest has a reputation for never cancelling their flights, and their fuel hedging strategy allows for a near empty flight once in awhile late at night during the week. I was on a flight from Anaheim to Oakland on the twentieth of December which had only sixteen passengers. So I bet American Airlines can occasionally do this as well, if for nothing else to keep their schedule as on-time as possible.

===

requiel - 2008-03-06 17:05:54 - http://requiel.diaryland.com
OH.. My....Are you serious? What in the world is wfong with those people??? How could anyone hurt a child..a baby!! I feel sick. Why did the mother just sit there and let him do it? I would have ripped his head off with my bare hands.

===

Dave - 2008-03-06 22:22:40 -
Requiel: Yes; I don't know; I have no idea; me too; the story does not say - she may have been in a state of shock herself, or told by her brother that it was right under the Koran for him to do so; I've seen you with your kids - I have no doubt you would.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.