Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Spam

2008-03-26 - 11:52 a.m.

Yesterday I couldn't find anything really worth writing about. I just couldn't focus and, unlike Brin, I'm not a big fan of Friday Five and other memes.

So sometimes I just take a day off. All is well - my health is fine, Solange is good, finances are good.

Matter of fact, I may do some retail therapy soon. There are some things at Fry's I plan to get.

===

Well, there's one group of folks who are excited about the high cost of gasoline - California lawmakers. They'll be getting about $3.8 billion dollars in revenue from the sales tax.

Here in California we're expecting $4/gallon for gas to become the norm this summer. There are laws in place that require a "summer blend" to lower emissions, so the refineries are re-tooling to start making it. And that, of course, costs. So the amount previously mentioned here will most likely go up.

And of course the price of crude oil keeps going up. OPEC continues to NOT increase production. And why should they? They're making a mint with prices as high as they are.

But that has nothing to do with anything. Remember - it's all Bush's fault.

(Actually, now that the Democrats control the House and Senate, I'm not hearing that mantra very much anymore. Wonder why not.)

===

I like to think of myself as being computer savvy. I try to pay attention to my e-mails, deleting spam as I go and avoiding phishing scams. I get quite a few, usually depending on what I do online (when I do a lot of eBay, I tend to get a proportionate amount of eBay and PayPal scam attempts).

My main account is on Adelphia and I get occasional phish attempts there, since it's been bought out by Time-Warner. This one arrived yesterday, and it just too dumb not to share (including spelling errors and typos):

To complete your adelphia account, you must reply to this email immediately and enter your password here (*******) as we are currently upgrading our server, in other to serve you better.

Failure to do so will lead to the deactivation of your account.

Adelphia Upgrade Team.

The "from" address, by the way, was from someone at "bellsouth.ca" - as in, Canada.

I was tempted to reply to it with my password as FUCKOFF, but why feed the trolls?

What's scary is, some folks will actually fall for this shit stuff.

===

Today's title really exists. Let's go to the video!

===

Okay, moving on now.

Tomorrow I have much to do before the Angels play the Dodgers.

Be seeing you.



===

3 comments so far

Wyndspirit - 2008-03-26 15:19:18 - http://wyndspirit.diaryland.com
I discovered you from the nifty members area, and I added you to my buddies. So if you get a bunch of hits, it's probably me reading your archives.

===

Bob - 2008-03-27 09:13:37 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
Gas is around $3.60 - $3.80 in the SF Bay Area. I think we'll hit the $4 mark around May (Memorial Day weekend). -- As for the phishers, I just ignore 'em, no reason to have your system exposed to any contact with these shysters. But, if you do decide to pull their chain, tell 'em your IP address is 127.0.0.0 ...

===

Dave - 2008-03-27 16:09:28 -
Wyndspirit - welcome! Enjoy the past entries, hope they don't bore you too much. :)

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.