Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Truth Hits Everybody

2008-04-16 - 12:19 p.m.

Yesterday I discovered that there will be a promotion at Angel Stadium for Thursday's game against the KC Royals - a bobblehead of Mike Scioscia. At Brin's urging, I checked online and found single seats were readily available. But rather than pay online "convenience" fees, I instead drove an extra 1.3 miles to the stadium and bought the ticket in person.

So after I drop Brin off at the airport, I'm going to go watch my first live game this season.

===

Commented awhile ago about how some folks are just now finding out about Hillary's tendency to lie. Now, the Wall Street Journal talks about Obama's mistakes. There's also an article at TheHill.com about his recent comments in San Francisco.

Like I said, I'm not a fan of any of them.

===

In France, Brigitte Bardot is on trial for insulting Islam. She says that Islam is "destroying our country and imposing its acts".

In France, it seems the truth isn't a good defense. And evidently, they have no "freedom of speech" laws...anymore than we have a "right to not be offended".

===

Okay, gang. If you think ethanol and other biofuels are worth any price, read this article. Then say it again with a straight face.

If ethanol is such a good idea, why does it need huge government subsidies? Wouldn't farmers do it for profits?

Oh wait...they already do...from the subsidies.

===

Speaking of food, we're about ready to head out to lunch. Then I go to work whilst Brin finishes her packing.

New South Park tonight.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Brin - 2008-04-16 15:33:44 -
Starving people to death notwithstanding, the other principal problem with biofuel production at least here in the US is that it generates more pollution than it's going to save. Most of the biofuel production facilities here are being run on *charcoal*.

===

Wyndspirit - 2008-04-16 19:32:50 - http://wyndspirit.diaryland.com
I say use the oil we already have to break the dependency on foreign oil. What good is it to keep our country "pristine" if we end up being owned by Iran (or China, but that's another vent) anyway? Use what we already have while we work on further developing truly "clean" resources like wind energy. (I live in ND, but I detest ethanol.) My family comes from the area of the Bakken formation, and I was up there last weekend. Most people there are all for the drilling; the only worries I heard was about keeping track of who owned mineral rights on the various properties.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.