Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Talking In My Sleep

2008-06-12 - 8:29 a.m.

I survived my day yesterday. Sorry for my anger and frustration yesterday, but I'd only had four hours of sleep and the noise was giving me a raging headache.

I got out of the apartment and got some breakfast in a nice quiet Denny's (and here's a sign for you - there were two very young children with their mother and they didn't make a sound the whole time they were there). Then I came home and slept for a couple hours until it was time to go in.

Oh, I forgot to mention this yesterday. I got a voicemail from my company's phone service last night, telling me that they replaced a vital component and we'd have to re-record all the messages: the greeting, the pricing, the directions...all of it.

Fine. But Verizon didn't see fit to tell me I even HAD a voicemail until seven hours after it was recorded. By that time I was at the Angels game and couldn't fix the system even if I wanted to.

So yesterday, after we closed, I recorded every last message our system plays for callers. So if you call, you're gonna hear my voice everywhere.

I was half-awake when I recorded them, so excuse me if I sound a little drowsy.

===

There's another Anonymous protest against Scientology planned for this Saturday. More info is here.

Go get 'em, Anon.

===

Saw an ad yesterday for Kraft Mac & Cheese crackers, with lots of animated fountains of cheese hoisting up the kids consuming the crackers.

Sorry, but it looks like cheese is flying out of their butts.

===

A long time ago I wrote about Jack Benny and Mel Blanc. Mark Evanier found another video of the two of them, this time on The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson.

It's SCARY how good and funny Mel was. And just watch how much Jack appreciated him.

===

Anyone interested in a new video game?

cat

===

Well, I have to work this morning. Maybe I'll go to the Park afterwards. We'll see.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Jeff - 2008-06-13 05:26:24 - http://musicman6724.diaryland.com
Dave, Thanks so much for that link to the Jack Benny/Mel Blanc video. Mel Blanc is/was one of my heroes. I will always remember being eager every Saturday morning to get up and watch the Bugs Bunny/Road Runner hour. Sigh. They just don't make 'em like that any more. In fact, nobody else ever did make 'em like that. They were the best.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.