Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


99 Luftballons

2008-07-25 - 3:20 p.m.

Got the chance to do the new Toy Story Mania attraction at CA Adventure. The line took almost an hour, but it's pretty cool. The "cars" go between several pairs of flat-screens (you wear 3-D specs). The "cars" have cannons on them, and you aim and shoot at various targets: plates, balloons, sheep, the little alien dudes, whatever. The Toy Story characters introduce each new "shooting gallery", and then you have about twenty seconds to shoot whatever you can.

It was a lot of fun. I'm looking forward to introducing it to Brin on her next visit...which will be after school goes back in session.

===

Then I made my way to the Park, and met someone new:

It's fuzzy, but so was he. Picture Morris, but much more solid.

He let me get close enough to skritch him behind the ears, but wasn't interested in anything else.

I later spoke with a security guard. He told me that they appreciate all their stray cats - they keep the rodent population down (except for Mickey and Minnie, of course).

When I headed out, I saw two employees cleaning up more spewage. The guy was on his knees with a chisel wrapped in towel; he was scraping in between the bricks to get all of it. This time, I made note of their names and went to the City Hall to commend them. The clerk wrote out comment forms for both, and promised me that they would go into the employee's files.

Some of you might be thinking, "Well, that's what they get paid for - cleaning up." Well, I personally have cleaned up vomit and other bodily excretions. It's thankless, nasty work. So why not show a little appreciation to the ones who do it? Make their day.

Because they help make yours.

===

A gentleman in England was fined L30 for smoking in his place of work. Here's the rub: he works as a self-employed house painter, and was smoking in his own private van.

The city council officials, however, declared his van to be "a place of work" and thus said the fine was appropriate.

Sheese.

===

Now, I don't drum as often as some do, but a new study suggests that "[p]laying the drums for a rock band requires the stamina of a Premiership footballer".

I need all the help I can get.

===

And for those who call Obama the "Messiah"...

"Barack Obama was in Germany today. He's like a rock star over there... which is impressive until you hear that David Hasselhoff is also like a rock star over there."
- Jimmy Kimmel

===

Okay. Late post today, so I need to get going.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Brin - 2008-07-26 00:25:55 -
I don't think I'd hire a house painter who would get a butt going around any open cans, or closed cans, or scrap rags with paint on em.

===

Bob - 2008-07-26 01:04:40 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
I always take note of superior service at the park and file comments/praise at City Hall. --- As for Rock Band, I've played it, and it takes getting used to - still can't work the bass drum very long without my leg cramping, and I have trouble with some of the faster beats on 'Medium'. (I can do 'Gimme Shelter' by the Rolling Stones at 92%.)

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.