Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


My Woman, My Wife

2008-08-06 - 12:43 p.m.

The heat and humidity have finally arrived.

It's been in the mid-90s for the last several days, and the humidity has been over 40% over the last week. It was only 70 degrees last night at midnight, but the humidity was 78%.

And where is Solange sleeping? In a corner, under the sunlit window:

If she needs to cool off, I'm sure she'd sleep somewhere else. And I have no idea how the plastic fork got there. It may be another item claimed as a new "toy".

===

It looks like two Palestinian brothers illegally donated over $29,000 to the Obama campaign.

If Obama has more class than Democratic presidential contenders of the past (as in, Clinton), he won't accept these foreign monies and will return them promptly.

===

Upset at gas prices? Who isn't, right?

And who's upset that gas prices haven't dropped as fast as oil prices in the last week or two?

Well, something no one seems to consider is that, while gas has gone up 100% in the last five years, oil prices have gone up 275%.

===

Over at The Ministry Of Shadows is this item:

Is it presumptuous for John McCain to refer to his wife as the First Lady? Just wondering.

Said reference took place at a campaign appearance at the Sturgis Rally, an event in South Dakota honoring veterans - said honors including bikini and wet t-shirt competitions as well as pickle-licking contests. God Bless America.

But nothing's too good for John McCain, who encouraged wife Cindy to participate. "I told her with a little luck, she could be the only woman ever to serve as both the first lady and Miss Buffalo Chip," said McCain.

A joke, perhaps, but certainly one in poor taste, and without thought to Cindy McCain's dignity.

I certainly agree about the tastelessness of the joke. The only possible excuse is that he cleared it with Cindy before he said it, and I doubt that happened.

However, as to presumptuous-ness - note that McCain did say "could be"...as opposed to Obama's plane seat on O-Force One, which quite clearly says "president".

And there's the title link.

===

The Angels game just started. I'm going to try to watch some before I have to go to work.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Brin - 2008-08-06 19:52:44 -
Wow, you got a hairy-legged woman there, Old Buddy. But she does rule the roost, and I think that fork is there to make sure nobody bothers her there in her corner.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.