Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Oh, What A Night

2008-09-19 - 11:37 a.m.

First off, if ye gives a damn, today be National Talk Like A Pirate Day, arrr.

But I swears on all that be holy, there be no way I be explainin' what transpired last eve and still be talkin' like this, I says.

===

So. Last night. Hoo boy.

I took Brin to the airport, dropped her off, then came home to do laundry and watch some Crypt. A nice quiet evening, I thought.

Someone else had other plans.

It was about 10:30pm. I had just shut off the living room TV and was booting up the computer. I heard sirens. LOTS of them.

Then I heard a helicopter - and saw its searchlight. In my neighborhood.

I didn't know what was happening, but for safety's sake I shut off all the lights and made sure the place was secure.

I saw police lights in the back alley, where my garage is. And more in the front, where the cul-de-sac is.

I went to the front door and looked. About five police cars with all their lights going had blocked off the street. A car was parked at the "top" of the cul-de-sac, and that's what had the officer's attention. As I watched, one of the cops shouted instructions. Someone got out of the car, put their hands on their head, and walked backwards to the police units. That person was cuffed and taken somewhere out of my vision.

Then more instructions. And another person got out, walked backwards to the units, and was cuffed. And another. And another. Five in all, out of what looked like a compact car.

All the while, the helicopter searchlight was going all over my area. I stayed put - I wasn't involved, and the police had enough to focus on without telling me to stay inside.

Then, as I watched, three police officers with drawn guns approached the car. They popped the trunk. Nobody in it. All four of us relaxed.

At that point, the cop in the alley moved his unit to block off the driveway to our unit.

I continued to stay inside as the police took pictures and searched the car. After about another fifteen minutes, I saw a couple neighbors from across the cul-de-sac come out and watch the cops at work.

At that point, I figured it was safe to go down and flip the laundry. Then I came back into the bedroom and got online for a bit.

===

When I went to take the towels out of the dryer about forty-five minutes later, the police were gone - and so was the suspect's car.

Everything was its usual quiet.

===

What had happened? I don't know. This is the first major police activity I'd seen in my neighborhood. It may be a barrio, but most of the people here are friendly. Even the ones that look like gang members wave back when I do. I feel safe and secure here.

But I was glad I could hunker down and watch Anaheim's finest at work. They were pros, right down the line.

===

So, today.

I have stuff to take to the recycle center, and an oil change planned.

And then, the gig.

Have a good weekend.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Bindyree aka Brin - 2008-09-19 21:54:20 -
Wow, I'm glad you're all right!

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.