Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Take The "A" Train ["A" For Amtrak]

2008-11-28 - 1:04 p.m.

Greetings, all. I hope you had a good Thanksgiving.

Mine was fine...once I got there.

I've made this trek before. In previous years, the 5 freeway would be a nightmare - traffic would be heavy, and there would be many accidents. So I decided to take the 91 east to the 15 south.

It took me over three hours to drive the twenty miles down the 91 to the 15 south.

Read that again.

Three hours to drive twenty miles.

That area of the 91 has some developed areas, but there are areas (mostly the burn zones) where there's nothing. Once you pass the 241 (which is a toll road), you're committed to that route. If I turned around, I'd have to fight my way back down the 91 to the 5 and THAT nightmare.

I called my aunt and gave them the news. My parents, who knew the route I was taking, were aghast. They promised to save me some food and promised they wouldn't worry too much.

Then, I called Brin. She immediately started checking the CHP and CalTrans websites to see what the delay was. Turns out there WAS no delay - the world was on the freeway with me.

I figured it would be easier once I reached the southbound 15 in Corona. I was wrong - it was just as packed and just as slow. Brin started looking for another route on surface streets. While I appreciated the help, I knew it would be futile; again, there's whole swatches where there's nothing but the freeway.

Then, a miracle occurred. Once I got out of Corona, the freeway opened up. I was able to hit 70mph and finally arrived at my aunt's house in San Diego - FIVE HOURS after I left. And Brin stayed on the phone with me all the way down, checking the road ahead and helping me to stay calm.

Once my visit was finished, I got some gasoline and headed home. THIS time, I chose to take the 5. My logic was as follows: the 91 west has only three lanes of OLD concrete, whereas the 5 northbound has four-to-five lanes of NEWER concrete. Also, the transition from the 15N to the 91W is usually extremely busy - only two lanes and packed. And let's face it, I just plain didn't want to look at the 91 again that day. I wound up getting home in TWO hours. I briefly considered going to the Park, but decided I was too wiped out. So I gave Solange some turkey and decompressed.

Since I have the longest drive, my family and I talked about how this could be easier - for me AND for them, so they don't worry about me. The best idea seems to be to have me take the train. So that's the plan for next year - I'll let Amtrak do the driving.

It'll be easier on all of us, including Brin. Thanks for riding shotgun with me, Brinster.

===

Two things about the gasoline fill-up.

Under the usual circumstances, I can drive to Escondido and back on a quarter-tank of gas. This one-way trip to San Diego (about thirty miles past Escondido) ate just over half the tank.

Second, the Chevron station I used had the lowest gas I've seen in over a year - $1.85.9/gallon.

Yeah. That's what I said.

===

So today. Black Friday. The busiest shopping day in the year.

Usually I shelter in place. Today, I have some things to take care of that require me to go out into the world. And then tonight, we're filming the band gig for the TV show.

Let the fun begin. Have a good weekend.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Brin aka Bindyree - 2008-11-28 21:11:30 -
Hey, Dave, glad to do it, hon. Thanks for making me feel like I was useful instead of just a lamed-up lump stuck at home! Glad you sorta kinda had a good day.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.