Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


He's The Man

2009-01-22 - 9:10 a.m.

Woke up this morning after about five hours of sleep and couldn't fall back asleep.

That's all right - it's my day off, so I can grab a nap if I need to.

===

President Obama took the oath of office again yesterday. Chief Justice John Roberts screwed up as he administered the oath during the inauguration, so - even though it was still official - they chose to do it over.

Personally, I think it was a wise move. There are still conspiracy theorists who think 9/11 was an inside job. If they hadn't had the do-over, there would be all kinds of folks who would say that Obama wasn't legally the President since the oath wasn't "correct".

Of course there will now be folks saying that the do-over wasn't "official" since Obama's hand wasn't on the Bible. Or that this will "prove" he's a Muslim, or some such nonsense.

Barack Obama is the President. Can we please move on?

===

There's still a lot of crowing about Obama being the first black President.

As long as this is brought up, I don't think we've progressed enough.

Besides, his race is the same as mine - human.

===

From my joke e-mail:

"Two million people turned out in Washington to see the inauguration. Bill Clinton got the biggest response from the crowd. Apparently, thousands of women yelled, 'That's him, officer!' " -Conan O'Brien

And:

I explained to the proctologist that my wife and I were making love on the couch and the channel changer just got in the way, but he said the odds were pretty remote.

Ba-dum-bum.

===

Got an e-mail from Bob Chance this morning. He's going back into the hospital to deal with an infection. This will require IVs, and he can't play guitar with an electronic IV pack. So this is the right time to have it done, while the band is on "vacation".

He'll get to stay in bed for awhile and flirt with the nurses. He'll be in hog heaven.

===

In Doctor Who news, it looks like a new companion has been chosen to go with the new Doctor.

Reports say Michelle Ryan, who starred in the recent remake of The Bionic Woman, is to get the part.

From one icon to another. Let's hope the Doctor is more resilient.

===

Day off, and the weather forecast is for rain...so no Park, unless I take my umbrella.

I may just do housecleaning. And then there's a nap in there somewhere. We'll see.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Abby - 2009-01-23 01:01:15 - dragprincessnyc.livejournal.com
Hmmph. I am reserving judgment on this new companion - and that new 12 year old Doctor.

===

Bob - 2009-01-23 10:57:04 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
I didn't catch any of the Bionic Remake, but I'd heard that Ms. Ryan was rather underwhelming (and that Katee Sackhoff, of BSG, stole the show).

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.