Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


What Child Is This?

2009-03-06 - 11:23 a.m.

After getting up so gawd-awful early yesterday, I DID make it to the River Belle for breakfast.

Afterward, I walked - a lot. No rides, just walking and browsing.

But something did happen at Disneyland that scared me.

===

I was walking past the Tea Cups, smiling at folks, waving at kids, helping families with picture taking - the kind of stuff I usually do at Disneyland. Something about that place just turns me into a big kid.

Anyway, a little girl of maybe four walked past me - all alone, sobbing like crazy.

As I turned around, someone else - a lady with two kids of her own - asked the question: "Are you lost?"

A very young child lost in Disneyland. At least there's lots of friendly people about who will help.

She was so frightened she couldn't tell me or the Lady Samaritan her name. The Samaritan and I scanned the area - no panicked mommies anywhere to be seen.

The lady and I walked the child over to a shop. The lone attendant told us she couldn't leave her post, but there were extra folks at the Mod Hatter who could take the child to City Hall, where the lost-and-found is.

As we headed in that direction, the little girl suddenly pointed to the line for Storybook Land and said "mommy" very clearly. We went over there and found the girl's family. They were in the line and had been there for at least a few minutes because there was about twenty people behind them already. The girl's older sister (I'm guessing, here) turned around, saw the little girl on the other side of the fence, and said, "...oh!"

The mom turned around, saw her daughter, and said this how-did-you-get-over-THERE statement. I hoisted the girl over the fence and into her mom's arms. The mom thanked us for helping and went back to comforting her daughter.

This hopefully will be a good lesson for the little girl. But what amazed me was this:

The family had no clue the girl was gone.

You'd think a family would keep an eye on their kids as much as possible, and know when they were gone.

You'd think so. You'd be wrong.

===

Anyways, after that I came home, took a nap, and ran errands.

Day off good.

===

Congress votes for cloture today on the $410 billion omnibus spending bill. Nancy Pelosi wants it passed as is - no changes at all.

First paragraph:

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) confirmed that if any changes are made to the omnibus spending bill in the Senate, she thinks Congress should scrap the effort and pass a continuing resolution to cover spending for the rest of the year.

With 9,000 earmarks in it, scrapping it sounds like a good idea. There aren't supposed to be earmarks in anything anymore - President Obama promised that. How dare Congress disobey the President.

===

And as if you needed any more proof that taggers are idiots, I present this from Failblog.

===

Okay, today is the appointment with my tax guy. This year everything is ready...including me.

Be seeing you.



===

5 comments so far

JtB - 2009-03-06 20:09:48 -
9,000? First it was 8,000. Then over 8,000. Now 9,000. Why don't we just cut to the chase, call it a million and take the rest of the month off?

===

artgnome - 2009-03-06 20:26:01 - http://artgnome.diaryland.com
how's this for parenting. I drove to a church one day where there was a function, and an 18 month old baby was just wandering out the parking lot into the path of my car. Turns out the child was one of the pastor's, and he (nor did anyone else) didn't know or even notice the child was missing. nice.

===

Dave - 2009-03-06 23:33:36 -
Ya know, I'm not a parent - never gonna be. All I try to be is the best uncle I can for my niece and nephew. So maybe I don't know anything about taking care of a child. All I know is, if you're in a big place like Disneyland (or even a smaller one, like Camelot) and your kids are that young, you should know where they are at all times. IMHO, of course.

===

Jeff - 2009-03-07 16:49:41 - http://musicman6724.diaryland.com
Um...maybe the taggers like really luxurious sheets?

===

Sami - 2009-03-09 17:21:28 - http://marilynesque.diaryland.com/
I've worked with kids for years and years. And it never ceases to amaze me what parents do and for that matter, don't do. I really think they should force people to carry one of those 'fake babies' around, the ones that scream and cry and shake. That way it will scare them into, hopefully, not procreating.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.