Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Normal As The Next Guy

2009-04-24 - 7:12 p.m.

REALLY late post today. Trust me, it'll be worth it.

===

Took Laila to the vet. Came home and relaxed for awhile.

Got a call around 2:45 - Laila was ready to be picked up. I ran a couple errands, and then went to get her.

Had a chat with the vet. The basic, stripped-down news is this:

EVERYTHING'S FINE.

The newest x-ray shows that the pin in her leg hasn't moved so much as a millimeter - which means the break is healing perfectly. The vet says she should recover almost completely.

The twice-a-day urination and extremely smelly bowel movements - normal. The stench is due to the meds, so that will go away soon enough.

The bloodwork is normal. Everything is where it should be.

Everything I've done, including the instinctive intuitives - just right.

Everything is going exactly as it should be, right down to missing the litter box being an absolutely normal reaction.

This has taken more stress off me than I can tell you.

===

Now, the immediate future:

Laila is supposed to go back in next Wednesday to get the cast off and the stitches removed. Small problem - I'd wind up picking her up and just leaving her here at the apartment, and her movement is supposed to be restricted for a couple days. I suggested Thursday but Dr. Sahai, the vet, has that day off.

Dr. Sahai, God love him, offered to board Laila over Wednesday and Thursday - and Friday, if necessary - at no charge.

He also suggested giving Laila a set of immunization shots, and offered to do it at shot-clinic day prices, no matter what day they are done. This is anything from a 50-75% discount, based on the shot. I agreed - even if I don't keep her, I have to do what is right by her.

===

We also discussed letting her roam free around the apartment while I'm at work. As long as I block off my room (which has more hiding places than I care to think about), it should be fine.

So I took the extra litter box out of the bathroom, along with the food and water bowls. Laila can use the common ones in the living room.

===

I went to upload this around 6:15pm and my internet connection was down.

As you can now tell, it's back up.

That also contributed to the delay of today's post. Sorry, but I wanted to have news before I posted.

===

Okay, the Angels-Mariners game has started. Back into the living room with the girls.

There may be a post this weekend if there's news.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Art - 2009-04-25 10:42:34 - http://arthurc1958.blogspot.com
You really really really need to keep her,after all this!!!!

===

Heather - 2009-04-25 20:08:00 - http://futureceo.diaryland.com/
I'd have to agree with Art on this one. :) Lots of bonding and love going on to have Laila be healing this well this quickly!

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.