Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Write This Down

2009-05-12 - 9:24 a.m.

Yesterday I went down to Angels Stadium and picked up a ticket for Thursday's game. Since it's against the Red Sox, it's "tier two" pricing, so my usual section is a touch more expensive.

Then I went to work. The newest lasertag computer had arrived on Friday, but I didn't want to install it and have a problem over the weekend. So we waited till Monday so we could thrash out any problems.

This new system runs on Windows XP, which means there are also a bunch of new bells and whistles. It took an extra forty-five minutes on the phone with after-hours emergency tech support (which comes with the system at no extra charge to us) to get the printer to work, but it's installed and functioning properly.

I knew I'd need to write a manual so the employees could work this thing when I'm not there. I woke up early to a call (nature's) and then couldn't get back to sleep - I had ideas swirling in my brain on how to write this thing.

I'm sure that's happened to you folks. Inspiration hits in the middle of the night, and you have to get up and write it down.

So I got out of bed, booted up the computer, and sat down to write. An hour later, the first draft was done. I'll take that to work today and make any needed corrections tomorrow.

===

In Laila news, she SEEMS to have learned what the two-tier scratching post is for...which is a lesson Solange never quite picked up.

Laila likes to wrap herself around the central post and use her claws to pull herself around it.

Hey, if she enjoys herself, who am I to discourage it? Especially since it will save my furniture a bit.

===

President Obama wants to close some 5,000 failing schools and see them "reopen with new principals and teachers over the next five years".

Three questions, here. One, what are these schools going to do with these teachers and principals during the schools' closure? Will they get paid not to work, like vacation time? Transferred? Two, do you really think the unions will stand for this? And three...does the president even have that authority?

Oh yeah...and it'll all be on the taxpayer's dime. As much as $5 billion, according to the article.

===

If you wanna be a rapper - or are a rapper wannabe - you need something called "street cred", right? At least, that's what this idiot thought.

Somehow, I don't think shooting someone with a BB gun and getting away on a moped isn't gonna cut it.

===

Well, I only got about six hours of sleep. I'm going to try again.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.