Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Run Through The Jungle

2009-09-28 - 12:57 p.m.

It was a pretty good weekend here at Chez Too Old.

Friday I went to the stadium and picked up a ticket for the final home game of the season. The Angels' magic number is down to 2, and they play the Rangers for the next four games. So all the Angels have to do is beat the Rangers ONCE to clinch.

By the time Thursday rolls around, the game may be mathematically meaningless. I'll still have fun, though.

Oh, and this game has a 335pm start time, so I can leave by 2pm to make the bus.

===

Saturday was more baseball and laundry and a band gig. It didn't seem too crowded at the bar, but the bartender said that sales were good.

Sunday was "cheap Chinese" food day.

I also caught most of the premiere of the fifteenth series of The Amazing Race. I used to watch it during the first couple series, and got seriously into it. Subsequent seasons, not so much.

It's always interesting to see parts of the world - cities, people, forests, jungles, rivers - that you don't usually get to see. And it's also an interesting look into human nature, watching the teams try to screw each other up.

This may work its way back into my Sunday nights. We'll see.

===

Do rabbis have the same religious conviction about privacy - confession or not - as Catholic priests?

At least one doesn't.

What possible good does this do? Does this clear up misconceptions? Or does this just sell more books?

===

Okay, off to work.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Mel - 2009-09-29 02:47:29 - http://mel-is-dvash.diaryland.com
Just for the record, no, a rabbi doesn't have a particular obligation to maintain confidentiality, although if he is acting as a counsellor and is asked to keep things private then he certainly ought to. I have no way of knowing whether or not MJ asked for confidentiality, the rabbi in the link says quite the opposite. I have no idea what to think of the man, but as a rabbi he is doing nothing wrong.

===

Dave - 2009-09-29 19:36:36 -
Mel, thanks for the clarification. I honestly wasn't sure.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.