Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Here, There And Everywhere

2009-09-29 - 12:37 p.m.

The new cat-feeding schedule is working out okay so far.

I took away the perpetual feeder and have been giving them a small amount of dry food when I go to work and when I go to bed. They also get their wet food when I come home from work.

Naturally, they think that any time I get up from where I am, I'm going to go feed them. They are slowly learning that it's not always gonna happen that way.

At least they haven't destroyed the apartment.

===

Well, the Angels clinched the American League West division last night - in a big way.

They beat the Rangers by a score of 11-0. Erwin Santana pitched a complete shutout game against the team that has had the Angels' number all year.

After the win, the entire team went out to the mural of Nick Adenhart on the centerfield wall and touched it, bringing Adenhart into the celebration.

At every game this year, they have kept a locker for him and brought his jersey into the dugout. During the celebration in the locker room, Adenhart's jersey was held up and doused in champagne and beer - as if Adenhart was in it. The whole season has had the cloud of Adenhart's death over it. But they've played this season for him. They've been keeping his memory with them through all their games and through all their travels. Adenhart has gone everywhere with them. And now, wherever his spirit may be, he's part of this win.

Congratulations to a class-act team in sports.

===

So.

Over the weekend, Roman Polanski was arrested in Switzerland for possible extradition to the US.

In 1977, Polanski drugged and raped a thirteen-year-old girl. He pleaded guilty to the lesser charge of "unlawful sexual intercourse". Before sentencing, he was allowed to work on a film before starting his prison term...and he fled the country. He's been in France for the last thirty-one years. And he hasn't been hiding - he's been directing films, winning awards, making money.

Well, now that it looks like Polanski may be coming back and may go to jail, a large number of folks in Hollywood are pleading for "mercy", saying he's "suffered enough". Even the victim has said she's forgiven him and doesn't want another trial.

Okay. Whether Polanski has "suffered" is debatable. And I understand the victim not wanting to go through another trial.

What amazes me is how many celebrities are willing to let it go. Even Whoopi Goldberg said that the drugging and sodomizing of a thirteen-year-old girl wasn't "rape-rape", whatever the fuck that means.

Whether Polanski has changed over the thirty-one years or not, or whether he's "suffered" or not, is immaterial to me. He pleaded guilty and then fled the country without serving his sentence. He's likely incurred more jail time because he ran.

He needs to serve his time.

===

Time to get going. I have things to take care of before work, and that includes feeding the cats.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.