Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Long Time

2009-11-19 - 11:22 a.m.

Day off today. There will be laundry in there somewhere.

===

It occurred to me the other day that next week will be the first time I've taken the train in a very long time - something like twenty-one years. As in, pre-9/11.

So I don't know what the protocol is anymore. Do I have to be there so many minutes before the train gets there, what's the policy for personal electronics, and so on.

So today I'm going to the station to ask those questions. I'm also going to print my tickets - I've already purchased them online, but they e-mail you a bar code that you scan at a kiosk at the station.

Since it's in the area, I'm also going to visit the post office and have lunch at the Chinese restaurant in my old neighborhood.

Hot braised shrimp lunch combo. Yum.

===

Remember yesterday's post, when I talked about jobs being saved by stimulus money going to a non-existing Congressional district in Arizona?

Guess what? They have those in Texas, too!

===

Jesse Jackson opens his mouth again.

Add "voting against health care" to the list of things that are all about race.

===

As you all probably know by now, Attorney General Eric Holder has decided to prosecute the 9/11 "mastermind", Khalid Sheik Mohammed, in civilian federal court rather than a military court...despite the fact that Mohammed had already agreed to plead guilty in a military court and be executed.

How many times has this happened, ever? Even Holder didn't know the answer to that one.

Holder is quoted as saying that Mohammed "will not choose where he will be prosecuted - I will choose, and I have chosen". Did Holder do that so Mohammed couldn't become a martyr?

If not, then I don't understand why Mohammed is being tried in federal court, where he's entitled to constitutional rights. He's NOT a citizen of the United States. He has no constitutional rights. How much evidence may get excluded because of how the evidence was gathered (the rules on such things are a bit different for military court)? Is there a chance Mohammed may walk free?

Also, how many federal secrets may come out in open court?

Then let's talk about security. The trial will be held in New York City. Why? This may give other terrorists a chance to cause mayhem, including targeting the jurors. If the jury is sequestered, what about the possibility of attacks on the jurors AFTERWARD?

Speaking of the jury, how much do you want to bet that, in the interest of fairness, the defense counsel insists on a Muslim juror? If that happens, will that juror force a hung jury?

Oh, and I see that President Obama pulled a Freudian slip about all this.

Sheese.

===

Okay. Lots to do today.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.