Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


No Worries

2009-11-20 - 1:14 p.m.

Yesterday I got my lunch and picked up my train tickets.

It turns out there isn't anywhere near the restrictions for train travel as there are for airline travel. Cell phone use, iPods, and other personal electronics are no problem. I have to be there about ten minutes prior to departure, which is no big deal.

Go ahead and laugh at my naivete. Like I said yesterday, it's been over twenty years since I have taken the train. If I were flying down there, I'd do the same thing - I'd do some research so I would know what to expect.

I wanted to be sure so this trip would be as comfortable as possible - in all possible ways. The less I have to worry about, the better I'll feel and the more relaxed I'll be.

===

Laila has been getting more and more affectionate over the last couple days.

She still sometimes shies away from my hand when I go to pet her, but other times she'll let me pet her for several seconds before walking away.

I think she's getting used to me.

Solange was affectionate from Day One, so this is a touch off-putting for me. But I'm sure Laila will continue to come around. After all, she came into this household in unusual, painful circumstances.

It takes time. And...patience.

===

And now, because I haven't done one in a long time, your Global Warming Moment Of Zen.

Hackers broke into the University of East Anglia Climate Research Unit and released hundreds of e-mails and other data from scientists working of proving global warming.

Those e-mails show that the scientists used several underhanded methods to adjust the data to get the result they wanted. There's also e-mails that show how they would try to stifle dissenting opinion.

Here's just one (emphasis mine):

From: Phil Jones
To: ray bradley ,[email protected], [email protected]
Subject: Diagram for WMO Statement
Date: Tue, 16 Nov 1999 13:31:15 +0000
Cc: [email protected],[email protected]

Dear Ray, Mike and Malcolm,
Once Tim's got a diagram here we'll send that either later today or
first thing tomorrow.
I've just completed Mike's Nature trick of adding in the real temps
to each series for the last 20 years (ie from 1981 onwards) amd from
1961 for Keith's to hide the decline.
Mike's series got the annual
land and marine values while the other two got April-Sept for NH land
N of 20N. The latter two are real for 1999, while the estimate for 1999
for NH combined is +0.44C wrt 61-90. The Global estimate for 1999 with
data through Oct is +0.35C cf. 0.57 for 1998.
Thanks for the comments, Ray.

Cheers
Phil

Prof. Phil Jones
Climatic Research Unit Telephone +44 (0) xxxxx
School of Environmental Sciences Fax +44 (0) xxxx
University of East Anglia
Norwich Email [email protected]
NR4 7TJ
UK

If these files are real, the pro-AGW movement is in deep trouble...possibly even done and done.

===

Oprah is finally calling it quits, saying her show will end in 2011. I have a hunch how Brin feels about it.

Why now? She says that twenty-five years just "feels right in my bones and in my spirit".

I wonder...maybe she'll go into politics.

===

So. I have a few things to do before work.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.