Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


We Are Family

2009-11-23 - 10:12 a.m.

Friday night, in the midst of all the insanity of work, we had a rescue.

I got word from an employee that two cats were on the course, just laying there. I headed out and found two kittens curled up in the cold damp grass. One was atop the other, trying to keep themselves warm. I collected them and brought them inside. We had a box that had been used for a shipment, and it was just the right size. I put some towels in it and worked on warming them up.

Very shortly, they had emerged somewhat from their stupor and started exploring the confines of the box:

We put the box up by the counter. The customers immediately started swarming, ooh-ing and ah-ing over teh kyute. Further examinations (ahem) revealed the following: they were about two weeks old, one was male and one female, and both were VERY clean - as in, no fleas.

For the next several minutes, I got the same questions over and over. "Where did they come from?" "How old are they?"

And most importantly, "What are you gonna do with them?"

Obviously, finding a home for these two was in the mix somewhere. After a bit of thought, I decided that if a customer didn't take them, I could bring them home and take them to Dr. Sahai the next morning. That way, they'd get looked at and the placement service - the one that Laila would have gone to if Solange didn't accept her - would find homes. I wasn't going to adopt them. I just didn't have the time to care for them the way they needed to be cared for, and I already had two cats.

A bit later, a customer came up and said she'd take them. She said the right things (like going to the pet store and getting kitty formula) and seemed to have the right attitude. She also agreed that the two shouldn't be separated - if they were brother and sister as we suspected, then they needed to be kept together. I gave her Dr. Sahai's number, she thanked me, and she took the box and left.

She also left her number and invited me to call and check on them. I just may do that.

===

And it looks like the prediction I made Friday may wind up happening.

Sorry, Brin.

===

Okay. Off to the dentist this morning. Oh yay.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Brin aka Bindyree - 2009-11-23 18:56:49 -
Ewwwwww!

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.