Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Mystery Train

2009-11-26 - 7:55 a.m.

Up at 7am - God help me - so I can get to the train on time.

Spoke with my parents and my aunt last night, and everything is set. Someone will pick me up at the station when I arrive, and someone will get me there so I can make it home.

Because I'm not going through what I went through last year again...especially since there's a NEW fire in Anaheim Hills that started Tuesday evening. They expect to have it contained today.

If I took the 91, I'd go right past it. Not gonna happen. The train station is near Anaheim Stadium, so I'm heading south instead of east.

===

Last night I decided to try something different with my Shake N Bake, and so I bought some Zatarain's broccoli cheddar rice.

I followed the instructions to the letter - 2T butter, 2 1/4 water, and the rice in the saucepan, bring to boil, then cover and simmer 25 min. When the 25min was over, I found that a layer of rice had stuck to the bottom and burned. There was still some good rice above THAT, and it went pretty well with the chicken I'd shake-n-baked.

I may try it again, but stirring it every once in awhile. Albertson's has it for $1.75 or thereabouts, so it won't kill me if it burns again.

===

Oh - I soaked the saucepan in hot soapy water, and all the burnt rice came off.

===

I learned this when I was a little child.

Now I'm older, and it's still true.

===

Okay. Train ride for first time in twenty-some years.

So...lemme see. Train ticket - check.

Loaded iPod - check.

GameBoy with several cartridges - check.

Today's newspaper - check.

Kittehs fed - check. I'll bring some turkey home, too.

I'm forgetting something. I just know it.

Oh yeah - I need to shower and get dressed. That might help.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Monkey Magic - 2009-11-26 17:39:47 -
This may be of interest to you: http://pictureisunrelated.com/2009/11/25/youre-trying-way-too-hard/ I don't know if it's a true match, but it looks close. Thought you'd be interested.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.