Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Train, Train

2009-11-27 - 1:36 p.m.

Everybody have a good Thanksgiving? Excellent.

Mine was much MUCH better than last year.

===

First off, I didn't sleep well the night before. Chalk it up to nervousness (about being late and missing my train), excitement (train ride - yay!)...whatever.

Anyway, I think I only got about four hours of sleep.

Woke up, wrote yesterday's post, showered, dressed and got out...about fifteen minutes later than I'd planned, but still in time.

I had wanted to swing by McDonald's and get breakfast, but there was enough of a line at the drive-thru that I decided not to. Mistake.

Got to the station and in my waiting spot fifteen minutes before the train was scheduled to depart. Thought about going back to McDonald's, dismissed that as foolish.

Train arrived on time. The cars are now double-decker, and most of the lower level seats are reserved for handicapped or seniors. So I go upstairs.

I sit and read the paper, work the crossword...and my stomach rumbles. I go to the club car and get a nuked breakfast burrito and a can of diet Pepsi. Total cost: $5. Next trip, I eat before I go.

My uncles find me at the station. We go to where the party will be. This year, my aunt Pat decided not to cook a turkey - she had a spread delivered. But there were plenty of appetizers...and of course the famous chili-cheese dip, also known as the cholesterol highball.

Although I could have claimed first-eating rights due to my delayed appearance last year, I held back...for about five minutes. One step at a time.

Everyone was pleased to see me. And for the record, I beat my parents to the arrival point. Neener.

===

All too soon, I had to go. A zip-lock bag of turkey was put together for the cats, goodbyes were said, and I was taken to the train station.

Now again, I was a bit nervous because I wanted to be sure I got there ON TIME and I hadn't been on a train in over two decades. I got there way too early and waited about fifteen minutes before I could even board.

During the trip back, there were far fewer people riding. I had the entire car almost to myself for about half the trip. Again, I worked the crossword, played with the GameBoy, and listened to the iPod.

Made it home, found the car, and got back to the apartment.

The kittehs got some turkey (which they just about inhaled) and I collapsed around 1am.

And that was my Thanksgiving - far more relaxed and easy-going.

===

So what would I change? Well, now that I know what to expect, I'd be a little looser about when to be at the station for the departures.

I'd also make sure I have breakfast.

===

There's already talk about me taking the train for the Christmas get-together. It hasn't been decided who will host, but then there's no rush.

This is much better than driving. I think we have a new holiday tradition.

===

And now, today. Black Friday.

I'm not leaving the apartment until I have to go to work. And I'm not going anywhere near the malls. I'm crazy, but I'm not stupid.

Besides, I've already done my shopping. So there.

===

Okay, I'm gonna make some lunch and then get ready for work.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.