Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


It's All Your Fault

2010-02-12 - 2:22 p.m.

Went to the doctor yesterday.

Briefly:

  • weight loss good
  • cholesterol bad (meds altered)
  • new glucose meter obtained
  • two flu shots taken

Why two? Well, one was for H1N1 and the other was the more comprehensive "seasonal", which the nurse said covered the flu, heartworm, ringworm, and fleas.

I'm not sure about some of that. I was busy licking myself and I may have misheard her.

===

I also picked up the 10-99 forms for Bob and dropped them off. We visited for awhile and then I headed home.

It's been cold at night - like in the high 30s/low 40s. I've been sleeping fully clothed, with my slippers on...and with two portable warming units (the cats).

===

President Obama is now saying he is "agnostic" about raising taxes on households making less than $250k / yr.

Remember that campaign promise that he would NOT do that? That, if you elected him and you made less than $250k / yr, that "you will not see your taxes increased a single dime"? Forget that.

And why use the word "agnostic", which is usually used in religious terms? I went to dictionary.com and had to scroll down to find this definition: "One who is doubtful or noncommittal about something".

So why not just SAY that? "I am doubtful about not raising taxes."

Because there would be backlash...much more so than there would be by using words like "agnostic". But then, raising taxes IS something of a religion to politicians.

But not to worry - Obama knows what's wrong:

"Our real problem is not the spike in spending last year, or the lost, even the lost revenues last year, as significant as those are," he said. "The real problem has to do with the fact that there is a just a mismatch between the amount of money coming in and the amount of money going out. And that is going to require some big, tough choices that, so far, the political system has been unable to deal with."

Read that one line again: "The real problem has to do with the fact that there is a just a mismatch between the amount of money coming in and the amount of money going out."

It's NOT spending. It's "a mismatch between the amount of money coming in and the amount of money going out".

Mr. President, if I'm spending more than I'm making then the problem is my priorities are screwed up. I've had months where I didn't cut back, and I literally found myself in a bind before the next check. I'm working on being better about it, but it's not a "mismatch" of funds.

Good grief. He can't actually believe his own bullshit, can he?

===

And over here we have two Democrat senators who want to get rid of the filibuster, or at least weaken it.

The election of Scott Brown really has them upset. It brings a whole new meaning to "bring me my brown pants".

Two things, here. The Democrats have had enough of a majority that they could have pushed through anything they wanted. They failed to do so. Yet the Republicans are being blamed for "blocking". How could that have done that when the Democrats had a filibuster-proof majority BEFORE Brown was elected?

Secondly - if the filibuster gets weakened or removed and the Republicans get a majority again, the Democrats will complain that they have no way of stopping the Republicans from doing what they want. As soon as the power shifts - and it always does, maybe not this election cycle or the next but it WILL happen - the Democrats will rail about the "unfairness" of it all...despite the fact that THEY did it.

I will bet money on this last one.

===

Okay. I need to get going.

Have a good weekend.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.