Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Take It Away

2010-06-03 - 4:00 p.m.

The last few days have been busy and fun. Here's the lowdown.

===

Tuesday, I took Brin to the airport for her flight home.

There may not be another visit until October. She has real problems with summer heat, so I know she'd be miserable through September.

But then in September, I have jury duty. And her anniversary is early October.

So...maybe Halloween.

===

Baseball news.

Saturday - Angels first baseman Kendry Morales broke his own leg while celebrating a walk-off grand slam home run. He's likely out for the season.

So who played first base the next day? Catcher Mike Napoli, who hadn't played the position for a couple years. He did pretty well - well enough that he did it again Wednesday.

Now the Angels other primary catcher, Jeff Mathis, is on an injury rehab assignment. When Mathis comes back, Napoli may well stay at first base so that he can bat...and Napoli has said he has no problem with that.

Meanwhile, there have been several players rotating through the first-base slot - Napoli, Michael Ryan, Robb Quinlan...even outfielder Bobby Abreu is a candidate for the spot (Abreu played first base for a couple games last year). And with the exception of Quinlan, all of those players are part of the "major league" Angels. So there's other minor leaguers other than Quinlan who may be called up. So they may solve this vacancy in-house. If not, there are also trade possibilities.

As of last night, they still haven't operated on Morales due to the swelling.

===

Work stays steady.

We have a new office employee who is still learning the ropes. She was going to be there Wednesday without Jason or any of the other office staff there to assist her if she had a problem. So I volunteered to come in and be available to help her if she needed it. Jason thanked me for the offer and took me up on it.

So I go in Wednesday morning...and Jason is there. The maintenance guys needed help, so he came in. He still had me stay to assist Mary, which meant I got to sit and read the paper and eat my breakfast and get paid for it (yes, I cleared that with Jason first - I was to "be available", not follow Mary around). I then came home, fell down for a couple hours, and then went to Tichu Night.

===

So Bill Maher, a TV personality with a popular show, makes a blanket statement about "real" black men, saying this about Barack Obama:

"You know, this [BP oil spill] is where I want a real black president. I want him in a meeting with the BP CEOs, you know, where he lifts up his shirt where you can see the gun in his pants."

Wow - isn't that something of a racist statement? Will Hollywood - that bastion of inclusiveness - condemn Maher for saying that?

That sound you hear is crickets...snoring.

===

In other sports news, we present this item from the Our Feelings Are Important And Yours Aren't Department:

A children's soccer league in Ottawa has introduced a new rule: if a team wins by more than five points they lose by default.

That's right - you can have the win taken away from you (title link) if you do better than the other team.

And this prepares children for life in the real world...how?

===

Learned today that Rue McClanahan passed, at age 76.

Betty White is now the last remaining Golden Girl.

===

There's a guy who's writing a biography of Sarah Palin. He rents the house next door to Palin's home in Wasilla, AK - where he can see into their kitchen and her daughter's bedroom.

Palin responds by building a fence tall enough to block the view....which IMHO is a fair response to this.

Some reporters come knock on the biographer's door to ask some questions. The biographer tells them they are invading his privacy.

Yeah, that's what I said.

===

Today was baseball-and-laundry day. The Angels won 5-4 (it was 5-2 until closer Brian Fuentes gave up two runs in the bottom of the ninth to turn it into a nail-biter). Right now, my final load of laundry is in the dryer.

After this...I dunno. Maybe the Park.

Anyway, onward into the afternoon.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.