Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Music

2006-12-22 - 12:44 p.m.

Slept in today. Was up pretty late and didn't have anything much to do today. But the work called, and by answering a couple questions they got my brain functioning. Turned on the TV and found that a Doctor Who marathon is going on right now on SciFi. This is the series featuring David Tennant as the Tenth Doctor.

I'd never seen any of these. SciFi used to rerun the Christopher Eccleston eps on Sunday night, so I did get to see them eventually. Now, though...they only run Friday evenings, when I'm at the bar. And I don't have a working VCR at the moment.

Now I know what I want for Christmas.

===

Like most folks, I listen to Christmas music at this time of year.

UNlike most folks, THIS is what I listen to.

===

My Christmas shopping is done. While I was at the post office, a passerby smiled and wished me a Happy Hanukkah.

Now, I'm not Jewish. I don't celebrate Hanukkah. It occurred to me I could be offended. Some folks would be. Instead, I chose to accept the greeting in the spirit it was offered. I wished him a Merry Christmas.

Wonder what would happen if we simply CHOSE not to be offended...

Just something to think about.

===

Well, tomorrow I work. Tomorrow night I go in for a recording session with Bob.

My post for Christmas Eve is already written. I'll upload it before I go to work.

Till then.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Brin - 2006-12-22 16:09:05 -
Good point! As human beings, we can make a conscious choice not to be offended at things, and, if need be, to accept things we can't change. It's a pity that so few people realize this. I'm glad you're one of the enlightened ones, though!

===

Bob - 2006-12-23 06:06:33 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
There simply shouldn't be all this political or religious baggage attached to a sincere greeting of 'Merry Christmas' or 'Happy Hannukah.' Wishing someone 'Happy Holidays' shouldn't be a question of trying not to offend, but equally welcome, as the word holiday derives from 'holy day'. For folks to get their knickers in a twist because Wal-Mart employees aren't saying 'Christmas' is silly - it's not like Wal-Mart is a house of worship.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.