Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Long Distance Runaround

2010-11-29 - 2:48 p.m.

I'm going off on a rant, here. I am really annoyed at this, and I want to write it all down.

I went to have two prescriptions refilled. Since I can never remember the numbers, I took the two empty pill containers with me. I gave them to the clerk, got my ticket and sat to wait.

The prescriptions were filled in short order. I went to pay and was told the bill was just over $23...which it shouldn't be, because I'm supposed to pay $10 for thirty days of each drug - therefore, it should have been $20.

When I asked, I was told that one of the drugs was less expensive if they gave me ninety days worth - It came to $13.67 for ninety days, instead of $10/month for three months. This has happened before, where I've gotten ninety instead of thirty even when there's no price break. They NEVER ASK - they just DO.

Here's the thing. I understand why they did it - they want to save me money, and I'm totally cool with that. What bugs me is that they didn't ask me if I wanted to do it this way. What if I'd only had $20 in cash on me? They would have had to re-do the prescription back to thirty, and I would have had to wait for THAT length of time.

Put it this way - your mechanic does you a service that will cost you an extra $30 without asking you. He says he did it to improve your engine's performance, and will cost you less in gas in the long run. Even if you would have okayed the additional work and expense, you would want to be asked about it, right?

===

Anyway. It gets more fun.

I called customer service so I can discuss this policy. The phone person contacted the pharmacy, and they told me that my doctor had changed the prescription to a ninety-day one.

That's fine - but then why didn't they tell me that?? Why sell it as a price change, instead of as a prescription change?

So, I called my doctor to find out what happened with the prescription. His nurse told me that any changes in amount would be at the pharmacy level, and she didn't know how any of that worked.

I was getting the runaround...and getting mad.

===

My next and final call was to the pharmacy manager.

She did some research, and gave me the following information. When prescriptions are refilled, they are supposed to be refilled AT THE SAME AMOUNT AS THE LAST REFILL no matter what the doctor put on the original prescription. For some reason, the computer skipped the fill-at-previous-amount and put it at the amount that was on the original. The pharmacy changes the amount ONLY AT THE PATIENT'S REQUEST. So the manager didn't know WHY it happened, but she understood how my thought processes arrived at the conclusion that I was being lied to somewhere.

So she will talk to their I.T. department and see if they can find out what happened, and where.

We'll see, I guess.

===

Did some pricing on flat-screen TVs to replace the one in the living room.

I may be able to afford this. Again, we'll see.

===

Seen on Twitter:

The only way TSA could get creepier is if it changed its name to Uncle TSA.

===

Okay, I must get ready for the evening part of my shift.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.