Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Kill The Beast

2007-12-03 - 12:34 p.m.

Well, this computer virus is withstanding all efforts to kill it.

I've run various spy-bot software and it keeps coming back. It seems to be an ad-ware program, which means it opens up an internet window and runs ads in the background, some with sound.

I've got Firefox up and running for now, but I'm gonna be mad if I have to completely reformat.

===

Now, kitteh news.

Got a phone call from a lady who has a brother/sister pair locally to me. She's been told that, due to her age and the number of animals she already has, she can't keep them. They aren't altered, so I'd have to take care of that.

But she told me that she may wind up taking them to the vet and having them put to sleep, which breaks my heart. They're only about two years old.

I honestly am torn. I want to save them, but I'm not sure I can afford to get them altered and chipped. And I really don't want to take them just to drop them off at a shelter.

What to do, what to do...

===

A CAIR spokesman has issued a statement about the teddy bear teacher, stating that he believed that no insult was meant and that she "should never have been charged".

Good. When Muslims don't speak out against the extremists, I comment on that. So it's only fair that I point out when they DO speak out.

I hope they'll also speak out against this.

===

It looks like many of the countries that signed Kyoto aren't going to make their targets because their economies grew more than they'd anticipated. So who will pay the huge fines? The taxpayers:

Japan, Italy and Spain face fines of as much as $33 billion combined for failing to reduce greenhouse-gas emissions as promised under the Kyoto treaty.

[...]

Spain will pass 40 percent of the cost for the extra emissions on to businesses, Secretary of State for Energy Ignasi Nieto told journalists in Madrid July 31. The rest will come from taxes.

In Italy, taxpayers will foot 75 percent of the bill for extra permits.

So if we had signed it and didn't make our targets, we'd be paying for it - in taxes. And the portions that are passed on to the businesses will wind up being passed on to the customers.

Still think we should have signed it?

Oh, and by the way...the number of weather-related deaths per year has been falling.

===

By the way, today's title refers to the virus. NOT the kittehs.

I hope you know me better than that by now.

===

Onward. I have some thinking to do.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Brin - 2007-12-03 15:51:43 -
I deeply resent the fact that your phone number got distributed to anybody who dared try and manipulate you into getting a pair of unfixed cats. There's no reason for you to have been treated like that, and I hope you make it clear with the rescue person that you're working with that you won't stand for this. Grrr!

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.