Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Not A Second Time

2010-07-06 - 5:53 p.m.

This is what it takes to get me to post again - food news.

I'll do something tomorrow and/or Thursday, and that's a promise. But for now...

===

Tuna went on sale a few weeks ago. So I bought a bunch.

Now, unlike Mark Evanier, I like my tuna salad with a few "extras" along with the mayo - namely, relish and (brace yourself) green taco sauce. The sauce gives it a nice tang.

Realizing that I had none of those things in my apartment, I bought a bottle of Kraft mayo and Vlasic Homestyle Sweet Relish. Both items come in squeezable bottles.

So I got home and had the tuna salad sans bread. Very tasty. The cats like it too, because I buy tuna packed in water and I pour the can squeezings into dishes and they get a treat. Serious om nom nom, people.

Now, I also like relish on my hot dogs. You know that "stadium dog" from Der Weinerschnitzel? Ketchup on one side, mustard on the other, with onions and relish on top? I've liked them that way for over twenty years.

Anyway, you have to be a bit more careful with the squeezable relish container when you're putting it on hot dogs, as opposed to squirting some into a bowl with your tuna and mayo. So I carefully squeeze...and only get pickle juice. The relish had clogged up at the opening.

I tap the contents to the bottom, then back to the top...and it happens again. Lots of pickle juice on my hot dog, but very little relish. I finally have to take the top off the container to get any...and of course, too much comes out. I wind up spooning the extra onto my other hot dogs.

This is annoying. The container design may not be right for this kind of relish. So I very seriously consider calling their customer service line. I check the back of the bottle for a number...

...and it turns out that Vlasic is owned by - you guessed it - Pinnacle Foods. The people I've dealt with in the past.

Here we go again. Hilarity will ensue. I just know it.

===

Speaking of food...

Don't try this at home, gang.

No, really.

DON'T.

===

The Angels @ White Sox game has been delayed by "inclement weather".

So, onward.

Be seeing you...soon.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.