Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


It's Your Choice

2006-11-15 - 12:05 p.m.

Poll time, gang.

As my regular readers have noticed, I changed my font here, from Times New Roman (the default) to Arial. I've always thought that TNR was a bit too "formal" and, being the laid-back type I am, I wanted a "softer" look. Brin tells me, however, that sans-serif fonts - the ones without the little "shelves" on the letters - are "harder on the eye and harder for the eye to follow".

I don't want to make this blog any more painful to look at than it already is. So I put it to you, the Readers. Do you like the Arial, or prefer the TNR? Comment below and let me know what you think. The change is simple enough that I can change it back in about 10 seconds.

And if I do change it again, it won't be to something like Wingding. That would make my eyes bleed.

===

Speaking of Brin, I had a conversation with her this morning in IMs. The subject was her second entry for today. Let's listen in...


Her: i just posted AGAIN
Me: Oh my God.
Me: Okay, now I'm worried about you.
Me: You said "w00t".
Her: LOLOL
Her: Don't worry.
Her: I said Pwned a few weeks ago, too.
Me: Well, that's how it starts.
Her: LOLOLOL
Me: You say "pwned" once or twice.
Me: Then "w00t".
Me: Then you start tYpInG iN tHiS fAsHiOn.
Me: Then...God help us all...
Me: ...you start with 133t-5p34k!
Her: 133t5p34k!
Her: LOLOLOL
Me: See, it's starting already!
Me: The final symptom, though, is the scariest.
Her: do tell
Me: You permanently switch over to Windows!
Her: Nooooo!!! NEVAH!!!
Me: Sure, they all say that at first.
Me: But it eventually happens.
Me: [Barney Fife] You gotta nip this thing in the bud!

I wonder if curing someone of 133t could be considered..."de-programming".

Heh. Probably.

===

I won the auction. The book is on its way.

It's a 1965 publishing called "The Whispering Rabbit And Other Stories", by Margaret Wise Brown. The lead story is about a bunny who, while yawning, gets a bee stuck in his throat. The bee curls up and goes to sleep, and all the bunny can do is whisper.

This is an old book from my youth. And I'm so glad Brin found it for me. Thanks again, Brinster.

===

No comment about O.J.'s new interview...except the title, IMHO, is highly suspect.

"O.J. Simpson: If I Did It, Here's How It Happened."

Paint ANOTHER bull's-eye on your dome, dude.

===

And lastly, here's a comedy bit Brin linked me to.

I gotta do this sometime.

===

Okay, onward and outward.

Be seeing you.



===

4 comments so far

Brin - 2006-11-15 15:17:41 -
Well, most books are printed with serif fonts, and that's how it's been done for five hundred years, so that's what our eyes are used to seeing -- but maybe I'm just an old fart. I think possibly if you really want to keep it looking this way, you can -- perhaps if you reduced the size by one point, it would seem less clunky to me. But, as Dennis Miller says, That's just my opinion, I could be wrong.

===

Smed - 2006-11-15 15:26:34 - http://smedindy.diaryland.com
Woot!!!!1!!!!

===

le-fart - 2006-11-15 15:28:52 -
Hm..yeah...guess this one�s better, suits your purpose better, I think!

===

artgnome - 2006-11-15 18:01:55 - http://artgnome.diaryland.com
I'm a big fan of arial, myself and use it in a lot of my design work. It's cleaner and for me, is easier to read.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.