Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Eat Steak

2008-09-26 - 12:52 p.m.

Found something interesting in my mail yesterday - I have once again been called upon for jury duty, this time for early November.

Last time, I was nervous. Now, I know what to expect. I'll bring my GameBoy to play while I'm waiting.

===

Interesting item on Barack Obama's voteforchange.com site: if you say you're not a US citizen, you get a screen that says the following:

Unfortunately, only US citizens are eligible to register to vote.

"Unfortunately"? It can be taken that Obama will change this, once he's on office.

Don't the people who do things for Obama's campaign realize how this makes him look?

===

In Middletown CT, almost thirty students were suspended for having a birthday breakfast barbecue on school property.

It seems that most were seniors who didn't have to be in school till later. The cookout happened "over a football field away" from where classes were in session, and the students were "talking quietly". One student was quoted as saying, "We didn't have beer, we didn't have weed, we had bacon". And such cookouts seem to be an end-of-year tradition, with teacher participation.

So why the suspension this time? The principal won't say. No one knows what rules (if any) were broken. And there was no warning, like a "end it now and clean up or you're suspended" type of thing. The principal just came out and suspended everyone for two days. Even the parents are mystified.

Maybe if it had been steak and eggs instead - and the principal had been invited.

===

Speaking of breakfast, I hope you've had yours.

In light of the $700 million bailout, do we really need this? And note the comment in the article about why it's being done secretly.

===

Okay, I have a couple things to do before the gig tonight...and that will include a nap.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Bob - 2008-09-27 07:50:07 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
Actually, 'unfortunately, only U.S. citizens are eligible to vote' sounds to me like, 'you should become a U.S. citizen.' You know, like 'you must be this tall to go on this ride' or 'under 17 not admitted without parent or guardian'

===

Dave - 2008-09-27 11:03:56 -
That's probably what they MEANT. But it was phrased badly...and that could make Obama look bad, because this is a pro-Obama site.

I'm sure he doesn't manage every aspect of his campaign (that's what campaign managers are for), but you'd think an employee would want to make his boss look good. Putting up something like this that sends an ambiguous message can cause backlash.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.